Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anatomy for Ergonomics and Safety: Home

Anatomy for Ergonomics and Safety Resources

AnatomyZone Free. Provides detailed and in-depth video tutorials and flashcards of all the major anatomy structures and systems including the cardiovascular, digestive, musculoskeletal, neuroanatomy, reproductive, respiratory, and urinary systems. An interactive 3-D atlas of the musculoskeletal system with detailed descriptions of parts is also available with similar maps of the remaining systems coming soon. http://anatomyzone.com/

Spongelab.com Sign-up required. Free. Provides graphics and images, games and simulations, animations and videos, as well as linked animations, shared lessons, E-Textbooks, and quizzes in a variety of subjects ranging from Biology and Chemistry to History and Mathematics.http://www.spongelab.com/home.cfm http://www.spongelab.com/game_pages/bab.cfm

BioDigital.com Sign-up required. Free. Some content restricted to premium membership. Provides a detailed interactive 3-D map of both male and female human anatomy system by system. Allows for customizable combinations of subsystems and features in-depth maps of complex structures as well as common conditions and diseases of these systems and structures. https://human.biodigital.com/index.html

Medical Animation Library Free Bandwidth Intensive. Latest versions of Adobe Shockwave and Quicktime required. Provides animated models of various anatomical systems as well as medical and first aid procedures in various areas including Allergy and Immunology; Cancer; Child Care; Dermatology;  Ear, Nose, and Throat; Endocrinology and Diabetes; Eyes and Vision; Fitness; Gastroenterology; Heart and Vascular; Neurology; Ob/Gyn; Orthopaedics; Pregnancy and  Embryology; Pulmonary Medicine; Surgery; and Urology. http://www.pennmedicine.org/health_info/animationplayer/

InnerBody Free  Provides interactive 2-D and 3-D maps of male and female human anatomy along with detailed descriptions of the selected region or organ. Includes the skeletal, muscular, cardiovascular, digestive, endocrine, nervous, respiratory, immune/lymphatic, urinary, male/female reproductive, and integumentary systems. http://www.innerbody.com/

ZygoteBody Sign-up required. Free. Some content restricted to premium membership. Provides an interactive 3-D model of male and female human anatomy and physiology with slide-able transparency and layering of the integumentary, muscular, skeletal, digestive, cardiovascular, and nervous systems. Premium subscriptions give access to 3-D models of a disarticulated skull and cross-sectional views of eye and heart models. https://zygotebody.com

 Eye dissection and anatomy Server under maintenance

Healthline BodyMaps Free. Provides a rotating interactive map of the male and female human body highlighting the integumentary, muscular, deep muscular, vascular, and skeletal systems. Allows for detailed and in-depth focus on specific regions and anatomical parts. http://www.healthline.com/human-body-maps/#1/1

 Visible Body For Purchase. Provides general and specialist references to both male and female human anatomy that includes thousands of 3-D models of various systems and regions, animations, definitions and pronunciations, study and testing features, save and sharing options, as well as illustrations. Some versions include Latin terminology, pathology information, muscle action animations, muscle attachment, bony landmarks, and other system specific information. http://www.visiblebody.com/index.html

Anatomy Arcade Free. Provides various interactive games including jigsaws, crosswords, word search, match two, and animations for the Skeletal, Articular, Muscular, Circulatory, Respiratory, Nervous, Digestive, and Endocrine systems. Also includes instructional videos on various topics in anatomy and links to other Biology and Anatomy resources. http://www.anatomyarcade.com/index.html

 eSkeletons Free. Provides detailed interactive 2-D and 3-D models of the male human skeleton as well as 2-D and 3-D skeletal models of other primates including the baboon, chimpanzee, common marmoset, gibbon, gorilla, lesser bushbaby, mouse lemur, orangutan, ruffed lemur, slow loris, squirrel monkey, and tarsier. Also provides comparative anatomy and taxonomic trees of these species. http://eskeletons.org/

Open Heart Surgery Simulation Free. An interactive simulation that guides the user through an oversimplified version of a Coronary Artery Bypass surgery. The procedure is represented in 13 steps from prep to patient recovery. Each stage will provide instructions on how to proceed and then ask you to carry out the simulated procedure. There are three levels of difficulty offered.

Rocky Mountain University of Health Professionals Anatomy Resources Free. Provides links to useful anatomy resources ranging from detailed plates and illustrations to interactive 3-D models of the eye, skull, and entire body. Provides access to other medical universities’ and libraries’ anatomy resources and provides descriptions of what those resources entail. https://rmuohp.edu/anatomy-resources/

Getbodysmart.com A hyperlinked list of websites that provide information and resources on the subject of anatomy. Websites include or originate from: Animated, Interactive websites and web apps; Websites by educators, schools, governments and non-profits; free information offered by commercial websites; anatomy and physiology websites for children; commercial websites that charge for information; popular human anatomy apps for mobile devices; and anatomy models, charts, posters, simulators, and other teaching supplies. http://www.getbodysmart.com/ap/site/resourcelinks/links.html

Google Search: youtube, basic anatomy A google search result list of youtube videos relating to basic anatomy. https://www.google.com/search?q=youtube%2C+basic+anatomy&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

Basic Skeletal Anatomy Tutorial A youtube video from AnatomyZone giving a general tutorial of the basic human skeletal structure using the Zygotebody.com 3-D model. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fIoBoGSPkws

Biomechanics Resources

Anatomy of the Human Body

Henry Gray

https://www.bartleby.com/107/

Hosford Muscle Tables: Skeletal Muscles of the Human Body

https://www.ptcentral.com/muscles

Hypermuscle: Muscles in Action

http://www.med.umich.edu/lrc/Hypermuscle/Hyper.html

Indiana Hand to Shoulder Center

http://indianahandtoshoulder.com/

Indiana University Virtual Anatomy Lab

http://www.indiana.edu/~anat215/virtuallab/index.html

InnerBody: Human Anatomy

https://www.innerbody.com/htm/body.html

Visible Human Project

https://www.nlm.nih.gov/research/visible/visible_human.html

 

Article

Analyzing Human Movements - Introducing A Framework To Extract And Evaluate Biomechanical Data

https://www.biorxiv.org/content/biorxiv/early/2018/10/12/442087.full.pdf

 

International Society of Biomechanics

Biomechanical Data Resources

https://isbweb.org/data/

Books

Biomechanics: principles and practices /

Peterson, Donald R.; Bronzino, Joseph D., Editors

Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, Taylor & Francis Group, 2014.

Call Number: Internet. QP303 .B566 2015eb

Located: Electronic Resource, see related URL

 

Fundamentals of biomechanics

Knudson, Duane V.,

New York: Kluwer Academic, 2003.

Call Number:     QP303 .K588 2003

 

Journals

Journal of biomechanics.

Journal of applied biomechanics.

 

Databases

Academic Search Complete

SpostDiscus

PubMed

 

 

Subject Guide