Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
JAND Citation Style
The Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (JAND) citation style provides the rules for formatting academic works in the field of nutrition. JAND follows the AMA Manual of Style, 11th ed, for references and citations.
General Rules (from UIC Library's One Page AMA 11th ed Handout)
- References are listed numerically in the order they are cited in the text. Two references should not be combined under a single reference number.
- Use the author's surname followed by initials without periods or spaces. The names of all authors should be given unless there are more than 6, in which case the names of the first 3 authors are used, followed by “et al.” Do not use "and" between names.
- Abbreviate and italicize names of journals. Use initial capital letters. Abbreviate according to the listing in the NLM Catalog: Journals Referenced in NCBI Databases.
- In article titles, capitalize only the first letter of the first word, proper names, and abbreviations that are ordinarily capitalized in the reference.
JAND Guide (PDF)
From NIU's Graduate School, "Documentation Style" for theses. Updated 2013.
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Information for authors when submitting to the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Includes manuscript information for references.
NLM Catalog: Journals Referenced in NCBI Databases
Abbreviate periodical titles according to the US National Library of Medicine's lists of biographic data. Look up the title and find its abbreviation in the citation. Enter the journal title in the search box to get the proper journal abbreviation to use in your citation. Remember: If a title does not appear with an abbreviation, or if a title does not appear in the database at all, then you must provide the complete title.
UIC Library's One Page AMA Style Guide (11th ed.)
This style guide handout contains general AMA guidance and examples of common formats. The document is one page, double sided.
Citation Management Systems
If you are interested in tools that help you automatically generate and store citations, please look into web-based citation management systems.
Web-based citation management systems are tools often capable of the following:
- Importing references/materials (including full-text) from library databases and catalogs, websites, files on your computer etc. directly into your own personal database within the system.
- Generating individual citations or entire bibliographies in multiple citation styles.
- Creating (and inserting) in-text citations for you as you type your paper.
- Providing opportunity to annotate sources.
- Allowing you to collaborate easily with other researchers online through sharing sources or citations.
Currently there is an array of citation managers available on the market (with new ones being released every year). The most popular ones at academic institutions and their libraries include the following: