LibGuides: Agriculture: Home

Featured Link

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture - this collection presents full text editions of significant works in agriculture published from the early nineteenth to the mid-twentieth century

About This Page

This page lists the top recommended databases for Agriculture. A database is a searchable collection of articles, books, and other resources you usually can’t find on Google.

Choose a database below to get started.

Agricola (EBSCO)
From the National Agricultural Library. Some full text. Agriculture and related fields. Includes: journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch)
Covers over 380,000 documents published by the U.S. government and its agencies. Virtually limitless subject in which there is federal government involvement. Coverage is 1976 to the present. GPO Monthly Catalog is on FirstSearch. Abstracts Only.

Web Resources

Professional Organizations

American Agricultural Law Association
American Farm Bureau
American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers
Center for Rural Studies
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
- Part of the primary mission is to "raise levels of nutrition and standards of living . . . of rural populations." Among the best features of this multi-lingual resource, the FAOSTAT database, a collection of statistics primarily in nutrition and agriculture, is available at this site.
Government Food Safety Information
Illinois Farm Bureau
Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy
National Agricultural Law Center
National Future Farmers of America Organization
Rodale Institute
Rothamsted Research : : Institute of Arable Crop Research
US Department of Agriculture/National Agricultural Library: Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
U.S. Department of Agriculture Water and Agriculture Information Center

Federal and State Agricultural Agencies

Research Collections

Aggie Hortculture
Agricultural Network Information Center
AgrowKnow: The National Center for Agriscience and Technology Education
Farmland Information Center
A part of the American Farmland Trust and based in the Social Science Research Institute at NIU, this collection offers general agricultural literature, law (emphasizing state farmland protection statutes), research tools, small farm resources, and news.
National Agricultural Library
USDA Census of Agriculture

Subject Guide

Robert Ridinger

Email Me

Contact:

268A Founders Memorial Library, Northern Illinois University, De Kalb, IL 6015-2868.

Subjects: African American Studies, Anthropology, Earth, Atmosphere and Environment, Health and Human Sciences, Latino and Latin American Studies, LGBT Studies, Sociology

Library QuickLinks

NIU Libraries Search
Search for articles, books, course reserves and other materials available online or in print from NIU Libraries.
Chat with a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan
Request articles and books that aren't available at the University Libraries
Citation Help