Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Web Resources
- Gay and Lesbian Studies: A Research Guide -This is a link to the guide to all LGBT material held in the collections of the New York Public Library.
- glbtq: gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer culture-An online encyclopedia covering LGBT culture - very good for more popular subjects.
- Guide to Gay and Lesbian Resources: A Classified Bibliography - (University of Chicago)
- Lesbian, Gay Bisexual and Transgender Studies Program ( Northern Illinois University )
- LGBTData- Based at the Drexel University School for Public Health, this site offers an open- access gathering of datasets and measures relating to sexual orientation and gender identity.
- Out of the Past: 400 years of Lesbian and Gay History in America - This Public Broadcasting System Web site is an outgrowth of the hour-long film of the same title, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival in January 1998; it won the audience award for best documentary and was later aired on the network. It centers around the personal growth of a young woman who attempted to start a gay-straight alliance group at her high school and interweaves contemporary issues with her gradually expanded awareness of a gay and lesbian historical heritage. Out of the Past is composed of six pull-down menus examining evidence for same-sex history (chiefly in North America) between 1600 and the present. Each poses a question for reader feedback on subjects ranging from religion and sexuality, first romance, local community history, folklore and oral traditions, and conditions for gay and lesbian youth. The bibliography, although well chosen, contains only 35 books and articles. Eight Internet sites illustrate the possibilities of electronic access for monitoring current historical events in lesbigay history (with the glaring lack of links to any of the major gay and lesbian archives), while five organizations selected from the many in various fields of gay civil rights activism are briefly profiled, with the absence of the oldest of all, the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force.
- Outfest - A leading showcase for diverse, international lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) film and video. Outfest produces the oldest and largest continuous film festival in Los Angeles, the only LGBT weekly screening series in the country as well as the only LGBT people of color film festival. Since 1982, Outfest has presented more than 4,000 film and video titles for audiences of well over half a million people.
- People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans* History - This site presents the history of gay men, lesbians, bisexual and transgendered persons in all historical periods and regions of the world through hundreds of original texts and discussions. Cross-references to a detailed onsite bibliography make this site a valuable teaching tool.
- Pink News- Europe's major LGBT news service.
- Programs in Gender and Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Studies at Universities in the USA and Canada - The best basic list to use when seeking to obtain an address of a specific instHouston itution or assess the types of courses available within gay/lesbian curricula.
- Queer Resource Directory - One of the longest established gay directory sites and the model for others.
- Queering the Library: Including LGBTQ Information
Subjects: African American Studies
, Latino and Latin American Studies
, LGBT Studies
, Soil Science