Biology: Articles and Databases

BIOSIS Previews is the most comprehensive life science database in terms of its subject coverage and source material. It contains millions of records from thousands of life science literature sources across the globe. 1969 to current.

An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.

bioRxiv--is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.

This full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.

Statista — a leading provider of market and consumer data which consolidates statistics and narrative reports on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present), MEDLINE (1958 to present), and Methods Now. Tools available include PatentPak, Predictive Retrosynthesis, and BLAST for protein and nucleotide searching. Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFinderⁿ requires registration. Two important points to keep in mind concerning registration:

1. The proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain.
2. Any other type of email address will be rejected.

Is a balanced and critical reference work, produced by the collaborative efforts of chemists, from both industry and academia, selected by the editorial board. All published results from journals, books, and patent literature from the early 1800's until the year of publication are considered by the authors, who are among the leading experts in their field, to provide chemists with the most reliable methods to solve their synthesis problems. Science of Synthesis will be updated periodically and will become a prime source of information for chemists in the 21st century.

Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century this electronic work is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. In addition, the online format places physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms within easy reach.

A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature covering 5000 engineering journals and professional conferences in applied science. Coverage begins in 1970 and is updated weekly. Subject areas treated include chemical and process engineering, applied physics, computers, data processing, electronics and communication.

The database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records.

This full-text database offers extensive coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Offering full text and indexing for journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.

From the National Agricultural Library. Some full text. Agriculture and related fields. Includes: journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.

Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews is a fully searchable abstract database covering the latest information on all issues related to food and health - from food composition and safety to obesity, parenteral nutrition and allergies. NARA features all aspects of human nutrition, including:
• Techniques
• Foods
• Physiology and Biochemistry
• Nutrition and Health
• Clinical Nutrition
The database is combined with Review of Plant Pathology. In order to limit the search strictly to Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews one must select the title from a drop down menu at the bottom of the "Advanced" search page.

Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.

The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify relevant material across the world of scholarly research.