LibGuides: Allied Health: Articles and Databases

About This Page

This page lists the top recommended databases for Allied Health. A database is a searchable collection of articles, books, and other resources you usually can’t find on Google.

Choose a database below to get started.

Recommended Databases for Allied Health

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Also known as Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL), the database provides citations to articles, new books and pamphlets, audiovisual materials, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice and educational software. Material from librarianship, biomedicine, management, health sciences, education and consumer health journals are also included.
PubMed
An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Medline Ultimate (EBSCO)
Full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, providing medical professionals and researchers unparalleled access to 2,500 active full-text journals, including numerous top biomedical publications.
Cochrane Library
Cochrane Library--is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.

Additional Resources

Mometrix eLibrary Test Prep Resources

Mometrix eLibrary
Mometrix eLibrary provides test prep resources for over 1500 different standardized exams including: ILTS, CPA, DAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, NCE, TOEFL, and VTNE, and a wide range of career exams for the teaching, medical, construction, fitness, public service, and finance fields. Test prep resources include: practice tests, flashcards, videos, and study guides aimed to match the official tests.

Cabells Health and Nursing Journalytics

Cabells
Cabells, formerly known as Cabell's Directories, is the complete source for journal information, evaluation metrics, and submission details for universities and its scholars. NIU is subscribed to 3 sets, Business, Education, and Health and Nursing Journalytics. Each journal entry offers contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, acceptance rates, and other actionable metrics to support informed decisions when preparing your manuscript for submission to a publication.

Related Health Databases

MEDLINE (FirstSearch)
An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Some Full Text. Coverage is 1965 to the present. Medline is on FirstSearch.
Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information
Produced by the National Institute of Health and the National Library of Medicine the database furnishes clear and authoritative consumer information on individual pharmaceuticals and supplements.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 165 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition and professional health care publications. Health Source: Consumer Edition is part of the Ebsco family of databases.

Related Interdisciplinary Databases

Education Source (EBSCO)
With over 3 million resources, Education Source is one of the largest databases of educational research in the world.
ERIC (EBSCO)
With over 1.8 million journal articles, official reports, and other educational research resources, ERIC is the most popular database for Education research. A free version of ERIC is available at https://eric.ed.gov/
PsycInfo (OVID)
Over 4 million indexes, journal articles, chapters in books and entire books on psychology and related fields compiled by the American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1887-present. PsychInfo is on OVID. Some Full Text.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.
Science Direct
Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct.
Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.
Wiley Online Library
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
SpringerLink
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.

Additional Databases

PsycArticles (ProQuest)
Over 200,00 full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated publishers. Coverage: 1894-present.
ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
Established in 1962, ICPSR is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Individual data sets--which number in the thousands--cover a broad array of disciplines ranging from Political Science and Economics to Education, Geography, Health, and Sociology. Downloading of data files requires a onetime registration.

Books and eBooks

HuskieSearch Library Catalog
Find books in the Northern Illinois University Libraries, or choose All I-Share Libraries to search the holdings of more than 90 libraries throughout the state.

Springer Medicine eBook Collection
Illinois' statewide library consortia--CARLI--recently purchased Springer publishing's collection of more than 2,000 medical books in electronic format. The extensive list of English language titles covers all medical fields and extends from 2005 to the present.
Sage eReference
This database represents a collection of more than sixty recent reference works published by Sage. The volumes can be searched either individually or collectively. As a group the titles cover a wide swath of social science and allied health fields.

Rehabilitation Databases (Free)

REHABDATA
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, it is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present. (From REHABDATA website)
PEDro
Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health. (Description from PEDro website)

Allied Health: Articles and Databases