Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Ebooks in HuskieSearch
To find ebooks in HuskieSearch, select "E-BOOKS" from the dropdown menu:
Type a keyword, author name, or title in the search bar, and then click the magnifying glass at the right to search.
Ask Before you Assign
Library-licensed ebooks can be a great alternative to high-priced course materials, but not all ebook licenses allow for unlimited users. Before deciding whether to adopt an ebook, reach out to your Specialist-Specialist Librarian to find out if a particular ebook will meet your course's needs.
Ebook Collections available to NIU Users
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Best Bet includes more than 70,000 individual texts covering a broad array of academic disciplines. The database boasts a distinguished set of publishers including such university presses as Oxford, Cambridge, Princeton, Harvard, etc. The content of the database is well paired with an advanced set of tools that allows for expansive searching capabilities, and manipulation and storage of text.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This database offers access to digitized books, including all of the titles produced by the Guttenberg Project. In addition, the University Libraries offers access to some 1,500 titles in business, computer science, and general reference.
American Nurses Association e-books This link opens in a new window
The collection comprehends forty-one premium reference titles from the largest nursing organization in the United States.
SIAM (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics) e-books This link opens in a new window
For more than 50 years, SIAM books have been a leading source of knowledge for the world' applied mathematics and computational science communities. SIAM' line-up of stellar, prize-winning authors and titles that address both timely and fundamental topics have made SIAM books indispensable to researchers, faculty, and students around the world. Now, for the first time, the SIAM library of over 200 books is available for institutions to offer to their users electronically.
Springer Medicine eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Illinois' statewide library consortia--CARLI--recently purchased Springer publishing's collection of more than 2,000 medical books in electronic format. The extensive list of English language titles covers all medical fields and extends from 2005 to the present.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new window
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004--the site represents an experiment in electronic publishing on the part of the University of California Press. The latter has released the full-text content of 700 monographs drawn from their distinguished backlog of titles. The long term goal of the University of California Press is to maximize the dissemination of the works under their imprint.