Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding What You Need
This guide is not an exhaustive list of resources, but it is designed to provide you with a jumping off point for further research. Consult with your professor and with me if you are struggling to find appropriate primary and secondary sources for your projects.
Bronze Ritual Bell, 1200s. Korea, Goryeo period (918-1392). Cast bronze with incised inscription; diameter: 14 cm (5 1/2 in.); overall: 22.6 cm (8 7/8 in.). The Cleveland Museum of Art, John L. Severance Fund 1992.118. Internet Archive. https://archive.org/details/clevelandart-1992.118-bronze-ritual-bell.
Historical Research Resources
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
The database offers an important destination for searching historical documents, personal papers, and family histories in archives around the world.
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Encyclopedia of Ancient History
Encyclopedia of Ancient History--the title represents the most comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. The editors have collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on world history (excluding U.S. and Canada) and the profession of history in 2,100 journals. Coverage is 1982 to the present. Abstracts Only.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB Online) This link opens in a new window
You can now conduct a combined search of The International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), Bibliography of Medieval Civilisation (BCM) and International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR), providing access to 14 centuries of European history from 300 to 1700.
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus Online This link opens in a new window
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus Online -- is a highly practical lexicon, providing researchers, teaching staff and students in the field of Medieval History with concise, essential information. This new online edition, still the compendious lexicon for rapid information envisaged by Niermeyer, recreates the second print edition (2002) on Brills Dictionary Platform, providing French, English and German translations for every entry of a Medieval Latin concept and searches on lemma and full text: searches can be refined by century of use. All entries are contextualized with relevant text passages. The Niermeyer Lexicon Minus has proved to be invaluable to medievalists for almost 50 years and is an indispensable working tool for academic libraries.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Art Online - the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today's students, scholars, and professionals. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic History This link opens in a new window
Atlantic history is a fast developing field of historical inquiry that operates upon new assumptions about how to understand the remarkable nature of interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus' voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century. Its principal theme is the movement of peoples, ideas and things in the Atlantic Word, a world encompassing the continents of Africa, Europe, North America and South America and many islands, from the Canary Islands near Africa to the Caribbean islands and to Bermuda in the North Atlantic. The multiple movements were fundamentally important in shaping the modern world and in making cultural diversity a key component of modern identity.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window
The field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines, from history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. In addition to the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Managing the ever-expanding universe of scholarly information in this field of study has proved to be a monumental if not near impossible task. Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Philosophy is designed to provide authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window
An authoritative, dynamic online resource for students and faculty, the database brings together the best current scholarship in the field and promotes accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world.
This fully integrated resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in the field and covers areas such as global Islamic history, the faith and concepts of Islam, the people, tenets and practices, politics, culture, and more. The site is regularly updated and will incorporate many newly commissioned essays.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
A premier indexing and abstracting service in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. In addition, there is broad coverage of related
interdisciplinary fields such as philosophy of science, history, law, etc. Coverage is 1940 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text, full image of nearly 100 scholarly journals from Johns Hopkins Press and other scholarly publishers. Provides searching of full text
across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title. Allows searching of table of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title
as well as by Library of Congress subject headings. Full Text.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
Is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Upon completion, the collection will contain 1,000 hours of streaming video that offers access to more than 1,750 important, critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
Asia for Educators
From Columbia University's Wetherhead East Asian Institute. Asia for Educators (AFE) is designed to serve faculty and students in world history, culture, geography, art, and literature at the undergraduate and pre-college levels. Features primary sources, timelines, and key points on the history and culture of China, Japan, Korea, and Vietnam.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Digital documents, including ebooks, relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Hosted by the Yale University Law School.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.
Discover over a million images of rare books, manuscripts, and other treasures from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford college libraries.
Digital Resources for the Study of Prehispanic Central Mexico
Texts, images, archival resources, and bibliographies compiled by William Ringle of Davidson College.
Digitized Manuscripts of the British Library
Fully digitized manuscripts held by the British Library going back to 0 CE.
Duke Papyrus Archive
The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt.
Early Americas Digital Archive
The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the University of Maryland Libraries’ e-Publishing Initiative, and was originally developed with the support of the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH).
Epistolæ: Medieval Women's Letters
Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter.
Ancient Near Eastern resources, including archaeological excavation reports, ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain.
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
These open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions. Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Hathi Trust--a repository of digitized books and serials drawn from major academic and research collections from throughout the United States. The database is immense in scope and crosses all disciplinary boundaries. It is particularly valuable in offering full text access to primary sources and materials.
Internet African History Sourcebook
Primary and secondary sources on African history and culture. From Fordham University.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, translated sources on the Ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman World.
Internet Classics Archive
From MIT. Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation.
Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, translated sources on “Cultural Origins,” “Religious Traditions,” “Imperial China,” “Traditional Japan," "Korea," and "Vietnam."
Internet Indian History Sourcebook
Primary and secondary sources on Indian culture and history. From Fordham University.
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Primary and secondary sources on Islamic culture and history. From Fordham University.
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook
Primary and secondary sources on Judaism and the people of Israel. From Fordham University.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
From Fordham University, a vast collection of primary and secondary sources on Medieval Europe and the Near East--including information on Islam and Judaism.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Internet Archive of electronic texts on religion, mythology, and folklore. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.
Islamic Heritage Project
A digital collection of Islamic manuscripts, published texts, and maps from across Harvard's libraries and museums. Note: Many of the texts are not translated into English.
Islamic Medical Manuscripts at the National Library of Medicine.
Here you can learn about Islamic medicine and science during the Middle Ages and the important role it played in the history of Europe. This site, with its biographies, colorful images, and extensive historical accounts of medieval medicine and science is designed for students and everyone interested in the history of Islamic and European culture.
JSTOR's South Asia Open Archives (SAOA)
South Asia Open Archives is a free open-access resource for research and teaching - a rich and growing curated collection of key historical and contemporary sources in arts, humanities and social sciences, from and about South Asia, in English and other languages of the region. SAOA's collection currently contains hundreds of thousands of pages of books, journals, newspapers, census data, magazines, and documents, with particular focus on social & economic history, literature, women & gender, and caste & social structure.
Mapas Project, University of Oregon
A compilation of maps from Mexico and Guatemala, including several Relación Geográfica maps but many more as well.
New York Public Library's Pre-1500 Maps
Maps from various collections dated before the XVI century. Created by: NYPL's Public Domain Archive.
NIU, Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL)
NIU's Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL) exists to provide educators, students, scholars and members of the general public with a wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Drawn largely from the collections of universities and scholars in this region, SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Online Museum Educational Resources in Asian Art
OMuERAA (Online Museum EDUCATIONAL Resources in Asian Art) is an initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University's Weatherhead East Asian Institue. AFE is funded by the U.S. Department of Education and the Freeman Foundation. OMuRAA's purpose is to make the wealth of educational materials that are now available on the websites of many museums and arts-related educational institutions better known to teachers and students of Asian studies.
Perseus Digital Library
Hosted by Tufts University, the Perseus Digital Library Project covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Silk Road Narratives
A collection of primary sources, arranged chronologically, which involve travel or settlement along the silk road. Sponsored primarily by the Simpson Center for the Humanities at the University of Washington.
The Smithsonian's collections represent our nation's shared history, art from across the globe, and the immense diversity of the natural and cultural world. The scope of objects in Smithsonian collections is staggering—from ancient Chinese bronzes to the Star-Spangled Banner; from a 3.5 billion-year-old fossil to the Apollo lunar landing module; from the ruby slippers featured in The Wizard of Oz to presidential memorabilia. Scholars and scientific researchers at the Smithsonian—and around the world—use these vast collections in their research to expand human knowledge.
Theoi Classical Texts Library
A collection of translations of works of ancient Greek and Roman literature. The theme of the library is classical mythology and so the selection consists primarily of ancient poetry, drama and prose accounts of myth.
World Digital Library
Significant primary materials that represent the culture of countries around the world. Sponsored by UNESCO and the Library of Congress. Contains international materials from 8000 BCE to the present.
Vatican Library's Digital Collections
DigiVatLib is a digital library service. It provides free access to the Vatican Library’s digitized collections: manuscripts, incunabula, archival materials and inventories as well as graphic materials, coins and medals, printed materials (special projects).
A Companion to Global Historical Thought by
Publication Date: 2014-03-17
A Companion to Global Historical Thought provides an overview of the development of historical thinking from the earliest times to the present, directly addressing issues of historiography in a globalized context.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History is the only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
Empires of the Silk Road by
Publication Date: 2011-05-08
The first complete history of Central Eurasia from ancient times to the present day, Empires of the Silk Road represents a fundamental rethinking of the origins, history, and significance of this major world region.
The Golden Rhinoceros by
Publication Date: 2018-12-04
From the birth of Islam in the seventh century to the voyages of European exploration in the fifteenth, Africa was at the center of a vibrant exchange of goods and ideas. It was an African golden age in which places like Ghana, Nubia, and Zimbabwe became the crossroads of civilizations, and where African royals, thinkers, and artists played celebrated roles in the globalized world of the Middle Ages.
A History of China by
Publication Date: 2013-09-23
Capturing China's past in all its complexity, this multi-faceted history portrays China in the context of a larger global world, while incorporating the narratives of Chinese as well as non-Chinese ethnic groups and discussing people traditionally left out of the story--peasants, women, merchants, and artisans.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica.Written for a wide audience, it is an invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals.An extensive network of cross-references, blind entries, and annotated bibliographies guide the reader to related entries within the Encyclopedia and provide the groundwork for further research.
The Roman Empire in Context by
Publication Date: 2010-12-23
Through a series of original essays by leading international scholars, The Roman Empire in Context: Historical and Comparative Perspectives offers a comparative historical analysis of the Roman empire's role and achievement and, more broadly, establishes Rome's significance within comparative studies. Fills a gap in comparative historical analysis of the Roman empire's role and achievement Features contributions from more than a dozen distinguished scholars from around the world Explores the relevance of important comparativist themes of state, empire, and civilization to ancient Rome
ACLS Humanities Ebook Collection
The American Council of Learned Societies Humanities Ebook Collection is a collection of over 5,700 scholarly books, from over 125 publishers, sold as a subscription package to over 800 library subscribers. ACLS HEB is a collection curated by scholars for scholars; members of ACLS learned societies nominate books for inclusion, and Michigan Publishing licenses them and pays royalties to contributing publishers.
Africa South of the Sahara
Africa South of the Sahara: Selected Internet Resources is an annotated directory of online resources about Africa. From Stanford University.
Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations
From the University of Minnesota Department of Anthropology
FAMSI (Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies)
(FAMSI) was created in 1993 to foster increased understanding of ancient Mesoamerican cultures. The Foundation aims to assist and promote qualified scholars who might otherwise be unable to undertake or complete their programs of research and synthesis. Projects in the following disciplines are urged to apply: anthropology, archaeology, art history, epigraphy, ethnography, ethnohistory, linguistics, and related fields.
Livius: Articles on Ancient History
The Livius.org website offers information on ancient history. There are currently 4381 pages. You will also find more than 10,700 original illustrations. You can search to find what you are looking for or browse through the articles using categories or tags; the articles listed after the map are just the most recent ones.
Mapping Past Societies
Formerly, the Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations. From Harvard University.
Welcome to Mesoweb.com (and Mesoweb.org), an exploration of Mesoamerican cultures. This site is maintained in cooperation with the Ancient Cultures Institute, a 501(c)(3) non-profit foundation.
Voice of the Shuttle
This is a metasite for research in the humanities; it provides links to authoritative Web sites in a range of humanities-related subjects.