Core web resourcesExecutive BranchJudicial BranchLegislative Branch
State GovernmentLocal Government
Foreign CountriesUnited NationsNon-governmental & Int'l governmental Organizations
This is the "Government Publications" page of the "Government Publications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Publications   Tags: government information, government publications  

We are the main source to help you find government information in print and online
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.niu.edu/govpub Print Guide RSS Updates

Government Publications Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

FDLP logoThe Government Publication Department is a depository for U.S. federal government publications and Illinois documents.  It also includes a sizeable United Nations collection.  Our collections and office are located on the second floor of Founders Memorial Library.

 

Citing Government Documents

Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications — the Government Publications page at the University of Memphis Libraries provides a brief guide to Chicago/Turabian style with a good variety of examples including print and online sources.

Citing Government Documents — Columbia University's brief list of links to the most helpful guides on forming the correct citation following a given style sheet.

General Guidelines for Citing Government Publications — not specific to any style guide, this page offers helpful guidelines for identifying the parts of a citation from the source in hand.

 

Contact the Government

Contact Government — USA.gov provides a central page for contacting the President, Vice President, U.S. Senators and Representatives, State Governors, and includes a directory of contacts for federal government agencies, arranged alphabetically or by topic. Many of these are webforms that you can fill out online, but many sites also include further contact information.

This interactive map can help you find your district and contact information for Congressional representative, Illinois State Senator, and State Representative. Note, that if you search by ZIP code, it requires a ZIP+4 number. If you do not know the last four digits, append "-9999" (such as 60115-9999). You can also find lists of State Senators and House members at the Illinois General Assembly website. The lists on these pages can be sorted by any of the column headings, so that you can sort by district to find your Senator or Representative by district.

State of Illinois Telephone Directory — Search State of Illinois agencies by name, telephone number, or agency. Note that the basic search is by agency employee name, but links to telephone number or agency search are on the left side of the page.

Court Locator — This page has a clickable US map to help find US courts and court officials. Detailed information includes phone number, street address and Google map data to court locations.

United States Government Manual — is the official handbook of the federal government. This version is continuously updated, so that the information is current. The Manual provides an organizational chart of the U.S. government and for each agency, it includes a description, lists the personnel and cites the legislation that initially created the agency. For cabinet level departments, the manual includes an organizational chart for that department. For members of Congress only their name, State/Territory/District that they represent, and their room number, are given. Includes links to the House and Senate websites.

 

Tax Forms

Illinois Department of Revenue: Tax Forms/Publications — find tax forms for Illinois.

IRS.gov Forms and Publications — Find US tax forms and publications. This site hosts back-years of forms and publications.

FTA State Tax Forms — clickable map for state tax forms with links to fill out state tax forms online, where available.

 

Contact Information

Government Publications Department 
Library 245
815-753-1978

Rachel Hradecky 

Asst. Professor,

Head, Government Publications 
815-753-9841
Email Address: rhradecky@niu.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip