Skip to main content

Skip navigation

Government Publications: Article Databases

We are the main source to help you find government information in print and online

Databases related to government information

NOTE: A web-based database indicates one that can be accessed from any computer on the Internet. A database with the NIU note indicates one to which the University Libraries subscribes. These can be accessed, by members of the NIU community, from a computer on the campus network, or off-campus through authentication. All databases listed below are web-based unless they have the [NIU subscription] tag.

General Databases

Govinfo — The primary source for US government electronic information. Govinfo provides free public access to official publications of all three branches of the federal government: executive, legislative and judicial branches.  These documents are arranged into collections. The advanced search is very helpful because you can narrow your search to a specific collection, such as the Congressional Record, or Compilation of Presidential Documents and specify a date or range of dates. Govinfo also includes a browse feature where you can browse by alphabetic order, category, date, congressional committee or author.

MetaLib | GPO This site searches across multiple government databases including GPO's own catalog, PubMed, Index to Military Periodicals, National Agricultural Library, databases at the departments of Energy, Education, EPA, US Geological Survey among others. Target your search to a specific resource or search across many. Provides full-text articles where available.

Catalog of Government Publications  — from the US Government Publishing Office, provides an index to print and electronic publications created by Federal agencies. The database covers from 1976 to the present. This database also covers a growing number of older, print titles that are now available as full-text electronic documents. Please use the browse search if you have a specific title you wish to find.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 (with) American State Papers 1789-1838 [NIU subscription] - - The Serial Set “offers an unparalleled view of the activities of the United States federal government from the founding of the Republic through most of the twentieth century”[NIU description]. This series provides an in-depth record of US history from the government's perspective, covering a broad range of topics. This electronic version of the Serial Set also includes a browseable map collection. The American State Papers cover the period from the Revolutionary War to the 1830's.

GPO Monthly Catalog [NIU subscription] — description from the site: “Covers all types of U.S. government documents (more than 498,000 records), including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record.”

ProQuest Congressional [NIU subscription] — Formerly Lexis-Nexis Congressional, this database indexes publications of Congress from 1789 to the present. Included are: leglislative histories for laws from 1970 to the present, bill-tracking for current legislation, and full-text for most current material such as hearings and committee reports on a given bill. This site also covers individual members of Congress through their voting records, financial disclosures as well as campaign contributions from individuals and political action committees.

Specialized Databases

Agricola — Description from the site: “AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.”

Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)  — This database “is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.” [description from site]

Energy Citations Database  — Description from the site: “contains bibliographic records for energy and energy-related STI [scientific and technical information] from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). The Database provides access to DOE publicly available citations from 1948 through the present, with continued growth through regular updates.”

ERIC — ERIC is a bibliographic database of more than 1 million citations, of education related material. Coverage is from 1966 to the present. Note:[available NIU subscriptions]  — the NIU Libraries also offer access to the ERIC database through four subscriptions: FirstSearch , Ovid , Proquest , and EBSCO .

GeoRef [NIU subscription] — GeoRef indexes literature in geology and the earth sciences, covering 1785 to the present for North America, and from 1933 to the present for the rest of the world. Included are publications of government agencies such as the US Geological Survey, and other literature written by government scientists.

Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial Edition [NIU subscriptions] — includes statistics from the pre-Revolutionary War period to the present, on a broad-range of historical topics. Each topical section includes explanations placing statistics in historical context. Tables can be downloaded in different formats.

IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System) — Site description: “IRIS is a database of human health effects that may result from exposure to various substances found in the environment.”

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) — taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world. For any species, this database provides the taxonomic hierarchy with references to authoritative information. The search result screen offers the further option of searching for outside resources, which will poll Google images, and Entrez Life Sciences. Some of the outside full-text resources may be limited to subscribers only access, but abstracts for articles are free.

Medline Plus — the National Institutes of Health's central website for up-to-date information on health issues.  "You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition." This site is intended for use by both consumers and medical professionals.

Military & Government Collection [NIU subscriptions] — indexes nearly 400 periodicals and academic journals covering government and military-related topics. From the site: “The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets and offers indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles. Some publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defence Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color.”

National Criminal Justice Reference Service — includes many statistical publications on justice issues and substance abuse. You can search the abstracts database  or choose a broad category from their topical index .

NSCEP | US EPA (National Service Center for Environmental Publications) — from the National Service Center for Environmental Publications, this site allows searching of includes 24,000 EPA documents. Click on “Simple Search” on the left side of the screen, to get started. Includes scanned images of full-text documents.

OECD iLibrary [NIU subscription] — As described at the site's about page, OECD iLibrary "is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books,  papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data." This site "also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF)."

Publications Warehouse of the U.S. Geological Survey — a searchable database of electronic publications of the USGS.

Public STINET — scientific and technical information network of the Defense Technical Information Center, provides full text documents about such varied topics as medicine, aerospace science, military affairs and social sciences.

PubMed  — description from the site: “PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950’s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.”

Rotunda [NIU subscription] — The American Founding Era collection is a gateway into one of the great conversations in history. These newly prepared digital edition of the papers of Adams, Jefferson, Madison and Washington are presented in a fully searchable and interoperable environment.

TOXNET — “a cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas.” [description from the site]

TranStats — the intermodal transportation database, is an index of over 100 transportation-related data bases.

Portals

USA.gov — major portal, good first stop, search includes all government sites, not only .gov and .mil.

Data — "Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations and more."

Disability — disability related information and resources.

Benefits — find federal and state government benefits.

Grants — find and apply for grants.

Health — health news, links to indexes, such as MedlinePlus® and initiatives such as Healthy People 2010 and dietary guidelines.

Regulations — read and post comments on proposed regulations.

Science — “gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.”

Statistics — links to statistics from 100+ agencies, includes statistics links arranged by topic and agencies.