Rehabilitation Counseling: Web Resources

Journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.

From the World Health Organization, this database contains over 2 million bibliographic records in the health sciences. Includes the regional databases AIM, IMEMR, IMSEAR, LILACS, and WPRO

US Department of Health and Human Services provides news and information on health-related topics.

A policy development center focusing on consumer-driven policies for the self-determination of disabled persons.

Promotes the full inclusion of disabled persons both as artists and audience of the arts.

The National Center for Health Statistics is the principal health statistics agency in the US.

Comprehensive site about substance abuse prevention and treatment.

The mission is to provide leadership and support for programs of research related to the rehabilitation of individuals with disabilities from birth through adulthood.

Promotes understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research.

Source of occupational therapy information

This free online journal is multidisciplinary and peer-viewed and is published quarterly by the Center on Disability Studies at the University of Hawaii, Manoa.

Provides information about job opportunities, insurance, the Journal of Applied Rehabilitation Counseling, as well as information about certification and membership.

A national organization for Rehabilitation Counselors, with resources, a student forum, membership information, ARCA leadership opportunities, and awards.

Describes program education standards for masters degree programs in Rehabilitation Education.

This site includes links to resources for students, practitioners, and educators, such as a list of practicing counselors, job postings, and the current ACA ethical guidelines.

Information on supervision of counselors, regional and national conferences, advocacy opportunities, professional development, continuing education, and links to professionally relevant sites.

Information about the accreditation standards set forth by CACREP, nationally accredited programs, internationally accredited programs, and the purpose of accreditation in the counseling profession.

A professional organization that represents psychologists. Includes links to publications, research tips and tools, information about psychological disorders, education information, and professional development.