Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
HuskieSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
HuskieSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to:
- Renew books and videos
- Create favorites lists
- Export citations to Endnote Web
- View full search results (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)
For more information about using HuskieSearch, check out the HuskieSearch User Guide.
NIU Libraries provides to more than 200 databases, both general and specialized. Explore them alphabetically or by subject below.
Reference Databases: Search for Definitions, Background, and Overview Information
Search 100's of reference sources at once using our Reference Databases
Oxford Reference Online
Database comprises a wide array of reference materials including dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedia.
This database represents a collection of more than sixty recent reference works published by Sage. The volumes can be searched either individually or collectively. As a group the titles cover a wide swath of social science and allied health fields.
Reference Universe--contains 35 million data elements to over 45,000 specialized reference works. The elements are matched to NIU's electronic and print holdings, offering a customized view of local reference materials.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Offering information in a quick and easy format, and providing quality, scholarly resources, the Gale Virtual Reference Library is a valuable resource for any library collection and for users of all types.
Specialized Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by The history of food and drink in America is an exciting tale of unexpected twists and turns that are even more amusing than the oft-repeated myths. It is a story filled with hot-shot inventors, high-flying promoters, risk-taking growers, efficiency-conscious processors, hard-hitting advertisers, and lip-smacking consumers--all of whom have contributed to transforming lowly American food into a worldwide culinary delight. In 800 intriguing articles (from over 200 contributors), the Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. In an A-Z format, this two-volume set details the regions, people, ingredients, foods, drinks, publications, advertising, companies, historical periods, and political and economic aspects pertinent to American cuisine. With contributions from academia, industry, and the culinary world, the Encyclopedia provides a far-ranging yet cohesive account of American history and culture from a gastronomic perspective. From the extravagant feasts of Diamond Jim Brady in the Gilded Age to the fad diets and the health consciousness of today, the status and cultural significance of American food and rink has transformed throughout the years. With interesting anecdotes, informative sidebars, and generous bibliographies, the Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America will captivate readers--from scholars and food lovers everywhere--in this journey through American culinary history.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2004-12-09