Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
HuskieSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
HuskieSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to:
- Renew books and videos
- Create favorites lists
- Export citations to Endnote Web
- View full search results (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)
For more information about using HuskieSearch, check out the HuskieSearch User Guide.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. (This database is partially funded by NIU College of Business.)
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Also known as Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL), the database provides citations to articles, new books and pamphlets, audiovisual materials, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice and educational software. Material from librarianship, biomedicine, management, health sciences, education and consumer health journals are also included.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC is the largest database of educational resources and research in the world, containing over 1.8 million journal articles, conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1996 to present. Full Text.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Over 4 million indexes, journal articles, chapters in books and entire books on psychology and related fields compiled by the American Psychological Association. Coverage: 1887-present. PsychInfo is on OVID. Some Full Text.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Scholarship Online - this valuable online resource arrives courtesy of CARLI (Consortium of Academic Libraries of Illinois). The database comprehends thousands of current academic monographs and research materials. Not all titles are available full-text.
There are several means to assure full-text retrieval. First, input terms of interest in the single search bar. On the left side of the page of retrieved results there are a set of boxes indicating "Availability." To assure full-text retrieval check the box for "Unlocked." One will note a number of academic presses in addition to Oxford. Another means of retrieving full text with an especial focus on Oxford imprints is via selecting the "Advanced Search" mode from the main page. Set publication date limits from 2018 to 2020. One can easily survey the broad scope of the database by employing "Subject" from the pull-down menu. The latter operation allows one to browse content from various disciplines ranging from Anthropology to Mathematics to Sociology.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Includes indexes and abstracts for articles in sociology and related disciplines in 20,000 journals in 30 different languages. Doctoral dissertations and book reviews are also included. Includes some full text. Coverage is 1963 to the present.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista — a leading provider of market and consumer data which consolidates statistics and narrative reports on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Swank Digital Campus - the platform offers streaming video access to more than 25,000 titles. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of feature films, and documentaries. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms.
Faculty may request individual films for required classroom usage. Faculty requests are premised on creating a one-time faculty profile. To create a faculty profile, please go to the vendor's site and click on "Login":
On the next page, click on "Create Instructor Account" and submit the completed form:
Please allow a forty-eight hour window for approval and activation of individual requests.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
NIU Libraries provides to more than 200 databases, both general and specialized. Explore them alphabetically or by subject below.