Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources by Format
GPO Monthly Catalog (FirstSearch)
Covers over 380,000 documents published by the U.S. government and its agencies. Virtually limitless subject in which there is federal government involvement. Coverage is 1976 to the present. GPO Monthly Catalog is on FirstSearch. Abstracts Only.
American National Biography Online
ANB is a biographical resource on American history and culture. It includes 17,453 original biographies from the print editions in addition to new biographies by leading historians added every three months and quarterly updates incorporating new scholarship and factual information. There are some 80,000 hypertext links. Full Text.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography--The new and updated database includes 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2005.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
The database features comprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriter, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
New York Review of Books
NYRB represents one of the finest literary and intellectual journals in the English Language. This archival version extends from 1963 to the present, and comprehends more that 850 back issues and 16,000 articles. The database is fully searchable by keyword, date range, author and article type.
About 500 pre-publication book reviews are posted monthly, covering fiction, non-fiction, and children's books. Online archives date back to 1933.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
For more than a century, the undisputed authority on the English language. Includes 300,000 entries and 59 million words. Full Text.
Dictionary of American Regional English
Dictionary of American Regional English--DARE is different from other dictionaries in that it does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. Widely viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary, DARE represents the full panoply of American regional vocabularyfrom Adams housecat to Zydeco.
Online Etymology Dictionary
Etymologies are not definitions; they're explanations of what our words meant and how they sounded 600 or 2,000 years ago.
Considered by many to be the best encyclopedia ever written.
Wikipedia is a multilingual online encyclopedia created and maintained as an open collaboration project by a community of volunteer editors using a wiki-based editing system. It is the largest and most popular general reference work on the World Wide Web.
This site provides searchable access to US census data from the 18th through the 21st centuries.
Online Searchable Death Indexes & Records
Arranged by state, the website includes online death-related indexes, both free and fee-based. Links to local vital records offices.
Statista — a leading provider of market and consumer data which consolidates statistics and narrative reports on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
PEW Research Center
A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
One of the oldest public opinion surveys in the United States, the Gallup Poll groups data according to general areas such as politics, the world, the economy, and general well-being, and then offers full-text access to reports on topics of social and economic analysis it has generated from the data collected. Users will find the “Hot Topics” menu useful for tracking the areas being monitored.