Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research?
HuskieSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
One-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
HuskieSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to:
- Renew books and videos
- Create favorites lists
- Export citations to Endnote Web
- View full search results (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)
For more information about using HuskieSearch, check out the HuskieSearch User Guide.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. (This database is partially funded by NIU College of Business.)
Cabells This link opens in a new window
Cabells, formerly known as Cabell's Directories, is the complete source for journal information, evaluation metrics, and submission details for universities and its scholars. NIU is subscribed to 2 sets, Business and Education. Each journal entry offers contact information, manuscript and submission guidelines, acceptance rates, and other actionable metrics to support informed decisions when preparing your manuscript for submission to a publication.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the American Economic Association, is the premier bibliographic index to economic literature. It indexes journal articles, books, book reviews, dissertations and conference proceedings. Includes partial full-text.
Economist: Historical Archive, 1843-2006 This link opens in a new window
Delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2006. New full-color images, multiple search indexes, exportable financial tables and a gallery of front covers highlighting a key topic of each week - all combine to offer a primary source of research covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Hoovers online This link opens in a new window
The information in Hoover's is now contained in Mergent Intellect.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld--since 1971 the firm has provided thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information. The database offers valuable insight into America's 700+ industries.
Market Share Reporter This link opens in a new window
Market Share Reporter--Presents comparative business statistics. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.
Mergent Archives This link opens in a new window
Furnishes online access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents. Comprehending more than 180,000 documents and covering over 100 countries and industries, Mergent Archives employs a reliable and easy to navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect--is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo--the premier source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Research Network (SSRN)--is a vast repository of working papers and papers accepts (articles, book chapters, and other published items), constituting nearly 600,000 abstracts, 500,000 full-text papers, and 300,000 authors. The site is presently divided into 24 major topical research networks, ranging from accounting to sustainability. The materials come mostly from the fields of economics, business, and law, but SSRN is expanding its scope to include the humanities (classics, literature, music, philosophy, and rhetoric, thus far). Although the vast bulk of the material is open access, there is a commercial component with articles or ebook chapters from various publishers available for a fee.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista — a leading provider of market and consumer data which consolidates statistics and narrative reports on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
NIU Libraries provides to more than 200 databases, both general and specialized. Explore them alphabetically or by subject below.