COVID-19 Information: NIU Resources

An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.

Also known as Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL), the database provides citations to articles, new books and pamphlets, audiovisual materials, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice and educational software. Material from librarianship, biomedicine, management, health sciences, education and consumer health journals are also included.

Cochrane Library--is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
About The Cochrane Collaboration

Established in 1962, ICPSR is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Individual data sets--which number in the thousands--cover a broad array of disciplines ranging from Political Science and Economics to Education, Geography, Health, and Sociology. Downloading of data files requires a onetime registration.

Contains full-text information about commercially available psychological tests including: test name, test author(s), date of publication, reviewers, scores, publisher and acronyms. Doesn’t include actual test instruments. Coverage: 1985 - present

An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Some Full Text. Coverage is 1965 to the present. Medline is on FirstSearch.

This database represents a collection of more than sixty recent reference works published by Sage. The volumes can be searched either individually or collectively. As a group the titles cover a wide swath of social science and allied health fields.

Illinois' statewide library consortia--CARLI--recently purchased Springer publishing's collection of more than 2,000 medical books in electronic format. The extensive list of English language titles covers all medical fields and extends from 2005 to the present.