Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB Online) This link opens in a new window
The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
A premier indexing and abstracting service in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. In addition, there is broad coverage of related
interdisciplinary fields such as philosophy of science, history, law, etc. Coverage is 1940 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
An index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals addressing all academic areas. Coverage is 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is in First Search. Some Full Text.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
NEW!! Using FIND IT to Access Full Text
When the full text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, click on the FIND IT button. Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to full load with options.
- IF THE FULL TEXT ARTICLE IS AVAILABLE ONLINE THROUGH NIU, go to the View Online section for links to the electronic resources that provide access to the journal. NOTE: The first link listed should take you directly to the full text of the article. However, you may be taken to the journal page, so you will have to locate the specific article using citation information (i.e. year, volume, issue). Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to fully load with options.
IF THE FULL TEXT ARTICLE IS NOT AVAILABLE THROUGH NIU LIBRARIES, request the article through ILLiad by clicking on the Request from Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link. The form will expand to submit the request. Delivery time is typically 3-7 days. Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to fully load with options.
Important Note: Only faculty may request articles through Get It Now when the option is available. However, if the article is not needed ASAP, we encourage faculty to use ILLiad even if Get it Now is available because it is a more cost-effective way for the library to acquire articles.