Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medieval Literature: Web Resources

Literature Resources

British Library Medieval Literature Page -- This page takes you to resources for seven of the most important medieval pieces of literature, providing links to brief overviews of plot, key articles, and links to early manuscripts.

Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse -- This collection of Middle English texts was assembled from works contributed by University of Michigan faculty and from texts provided by the Oxford Text Archive, as well as works created specifically for the Corpus by the HTI. 

Luminarium -- An anthology of English Literature, Luminarium provides essays, online texts, timelines and other  useful resources.

TEAMS Middle English Texts Series -- The goal of the TEAMS Middle English Texts Series is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions.

Timeline of French Literature  -- This Oxford Reference timeline provides all key dates of French literature and links to additional reference materials.

 

History Resources

ENGLAND

Anglo-American Legal Tradition -- Documents from Medieval and Early Modern England from the National Archives in London/

English Heritage: An Introduction to Medieval England (1066-1485) --  Duke William of Normandy’s resounding triumph over King Harold at the Battle of Hastings in 1066 marked the dawn of a new era. The overthrow of the Saxon kingdom of England was to transform the country the Normans conquered, from how it was organised and governed to its language and customs – and perhaps most visibly today, its architecture.  Resources on all of that!

Duke William of Normandy’s resounding triumph over King Harold at the Battle of Hastings in 1066 marked the dawn of a new era. The overthrow of the Saxon kingdom of England was to transform the country the Normans conquered, from how it was organised and governed to its language and customs – and perhaps most visibly today, its architecture.

BBC History of the Middle Ages -- Turmoil, crisis and the creation of a state, from Magna Carta to the horrors of the Black Death explored.

British Library -- Invites readers to explore the social life of the Middle Ages by means of illuminated manuscripts and articles.

Internet Medieval Source Book -- From Fordham University in New York, this older sourcebook provides a great deal of material for study of the period throughout England and Europe.

The Labyrinth -- The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne’s thread through the maze of information on the Web.

FRANCE

Library of Congress Exhibit about Medieval France -- This exhibit provides a sense of some of the material life of medieval France and a historical understanding of the rise of absolutism in the country.

The Met -- exhibit of French Middle Ages This provides links of images and discussion of the art of Medieval France. 

 

 

Duke William of Normandy’s resounding triumph over King Harold at the Battle of Hastings in 1066 marked the dawn of a new era. The overthrow of the Saxon kingdom of England was to transform the country the Normans conquered, from how it was organised and governed to its language and customs – and perhaps most visibly today, its architecture.