Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medieval Literature: Primary Materials

NIU Holdings and a Tip

Medieval Manuscript Leaves -- NIU Libraries holds several medieval manuscript leaves in its Rare Book Room on the 4th Floor of Founders Memorial Library. Learn about them by consulting this Medieval Manuscript Leaves Lib Guide. 

Be sure to also check WEB Resources for other full text options of primary sources.

 

Early English Resources

English Short Title Catalogue  (ESTC)This catalogue provides a comprehensive index to all books published in England and its territories between 1483 and 1800. This index includes records of all materials in the two collections EEBO and ECCO as well as records to many titles as yet undigitized.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) --TCP (Text Creation Partnership) Early English Books OnlineTCP (Text Creation Partnership)Through a joint effortspearheaded by Oxford and Michigan universitiesthe earliest extant edition of every English-language work published during the first two centuries of printing in England have been digitized and made fully searchable. The EEBO-TCP corpus covers the period from 1473 to 1700 and is estimated to comprise more than two million pages and nearly a billion words. It represents a history of the printed word in England from the birth of the printing press to the reign of William and Mary. The database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Primary Resources

Hathi Trust Hathi Trust--a repository of digitized books and serials drawn from major academic and research collections from throughout the United States. The database is immense in scope and crosses all disciplinary boundaries. It is particularly valuable in offering full text access to primary sources and materials.

Parker Library on the Web - - The database is a joint venture of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge and Stanford University. Matthew Parker (1504-75) was a powerful figure of the English Reformation who was largely responsible for the Church of England as a national institution. A benefactor to the University of Cambridge, Parker's greatest tangible legacy is library of manuscripts and early printed books entrusted to Corpus Christi College in 1574. The Parker Library's holdings of Old English texts account for a substantial portion of all extant manuscripts in Anglo-Saxon. The library also contains key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts along with a magnificent collection of illuminated manuscripts. Scholars in a variety of disciplines - including historians of art, music, science, literature, politics and religion - will find invaluable resources in the Parker Library.

Subject Guide