Dictionary of American Regional English--DARE is different from other dictionaries in that it does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. Widely viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary, DARE represents the full panoply of American regional vocabularyfrom Adams housecat to Zydeco. Contradicting the popular notion that American English has become homogenized, DARE demonstrates that our language still has distinct and delightful local character. Whether we are talking about foods, games, clothing, family members, animals, or almost any other aspect of life, our vocabulary reveals much about who we are. DARE celebrates the color, richness, and evolution of the English language across America.

For more than a century, the undisputed authority on the English language. Includes 300,000 entries and 59 million words. Full Text.

Initially offering millions of words, phrases, and translations, in French, German, Spanish and Italian, the site will expand to include many other languages such as Russian, Chinese, Japanese and Polish. Included are usage examples and illustrative phrases, grammar guidance, click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, and help with spelling and punctuation. Also included are hundreds of correspondence templates including sample letters, CVs and resumes to provide practical help with writing in each language. Contextualized language reference help includes notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, and Words of the Day.

Is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today's students, scholars, and professionals. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.

Is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today's students and scholars. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help students and scholars find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working on screen.

Database comprises a wide array of reference materials including dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedia.

This database represents a collection of more than sixty recent reference works published by Sage. The volumes can be searched either individually or collectively. As a group the titles cover a wide swath of social science and allied health fields.