Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature)
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains over 850,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses @ Northern Illinois University
ProQuest Digital Dissertations and Theses @ Northern Illinois University--The database represents a subset of Dissertation Abstracts focused exclusively on dissertations and theses penned at Northern Illinois University. Although not complete, full-text is available for the bulk of the materials submitted to the NIU Graduate College.
Dictionary of American Regional English
Dictionary of American Regional English--DARE is different from other dictionaries in that it does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. Widely viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary, DARE represents the full panoply of American regional vocabularyfrom Adams housecat to Zydeco. Contradicting the popular notion that American English has become homogenized, DARE demonstrates that our language still has distinct and delightful local character. Whether we are talking about foods, games, clothing, family members, animals, or almost any other aspect of life, our vocabulary reveals much about who we are. DARE celebrates the color, richness, and evolution of the English language across America.
Focuses on educational resources and research. Over 900,000 citations divided approximately in half between journal literature and references to conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1966 to the present. Full Text.
ERIC (via EBSCO)
Focuses on educational resources and research. Over 900,000 citations from over 1000 journals, conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1966 to the present. Full Text.
Using FIND IT to Access Full Text
When the full text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, click on the FIND IT button. Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to full load with options.
- IF THE FULL TEXT ARTICLE IS AVAILABLE ONLINE THROUGH NIU, go to the View Online section for links to the electronic resources that provide access to the journal. NOTE: The first link listed should take you directly to the full text of the article. However, you may be taken to the journal page, so you will have to locate the specific article using citation information (i.e. year, volume, issue). Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to fully load with options.
IF THE FULL TEXT ARTICLE IS NOT AVAILABLE THROUGH NIU LIBRARIES, request the article through ILLiad by clicking on the Request from Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link. The form will expand to submit the request. Delivery time is typically 3-7 days. Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to fully load with options.
Important Note: Only faculty may request articles through Get It Now when the option is available. However, if the article is not needed ASAP, we encourage faculty to use ILLiad even if Get it Now is available because it is a more cost-effective way for the library to acquire articles.