Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Literature from 1600-1660: Reference Materials

Reference Resources

Chicago Manual of Style Online 15th & 16th editions This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.

Copyright Education & Consultation Program

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online The database features comprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriter, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance Iter, meaning 'a journey' or 'a path' in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700), through the creation of online bibliographic databases. Several databases are planned, but the first two, journals and books, are available. Full Text.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies The field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines, from history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. In addition to the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Managing the ever-expanding universe of scholarly information in this field of study has proved to be a monumental if not near impossible task. Oxford Bibliographies in Medieval Studies provides students and scholars with a reliable and authoritative solution to the problem of information overload.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance and Reformation The field of Renaissance and Reformation studies, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines including history, the arts, and literature. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. Besides the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Oxford Bibliographies Renaissance and Reformation is designed to provide authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people do research online.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Oxford Dictionary of National Biography--The new and updated database includes 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2005.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) For more than a century, the undisputed authority on the English language. Includes 300,000 entries and 59 million words. Full Text.

Subject Guide