Skip to main content

Skip navigation

English Literature from 1500-1600: Primary Materials

Early English Resources

English Short Title Catalogue  (ESTC)This catalogue provides a comprehensive index to all books published in England and its territories between 1483 and 1800. This index includes records of all materials in the two collections EEBO and ECCO as well as records to many titles as yet undigitized.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) --TCP (Text Creation Partnership) Early English Books OnlineTCP (Text Creation Partnership)Through a joint effortspearheaded by Oxford and Michigan universitiesthe earliest extant edition of every English-language work published during the first two centuries of printing in England have been digitized and made fully searchable. The EEBO-TCP corpus covers the period from 1473 to 1700 and is estimated to comprise more than two million pages and nearly a billion words. It represents a history of the printed word in England from the birth of the printing press to the reign of William and Mary. The database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Oxford and Michigan universities continue in this collection to digitize books indexed in the ESTC. This collection begins the year that EEBO stops and continues through 1800. Like EEBO, the database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Made fully searchable.   

Primary Sources

Ben Jonson Online The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online presents a complete reappraisal of this major Renaissance writer, complementing and extending the seven-volume print edition of Jonsons works published in 2012. It offers a clear sense, afforded by no other previous edition, of the shape, scale, and variety of the entire Jonsonian canon. At the same time, it is the first edition to use digital technology to give a dynamic insight into Jonsons processes of composition and to reveal the editorial choices which underpin the modernized text.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog provides a search interface to the CRL makes "vast collections of newspapers, microform, journals, dissertations and other materials". Materials are "available via interlibrary loan, through electronic document delivery or in its reading room". The University Libraries is a member. 

Colonial State Papers Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.

Early Encounters in North America, Economist Historical Archive The database offers a wide range of images and full-text materials relating to the early exploration and settlement of North America. The collection has been compiled by consulting a number of bibliographies, including: A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins. Sources for the ethnography of northeastern North America to 1611, by David B. Quinn. The French image of America: a chronological and subject bibliography of French books printed before 1816 relating to the British North American colonies and the United States by Durand Echeverria and Everett C. Wilkie, Jr. Wagner & Camp's The Plains and the Rockies, a critical bibliography of exploration, adventure and travel in the American West, 1800-1865. Robert Rogers Hubach's Early Midwestern Travel Narratives, An Annotated Bibliography, 1634-1850. Candiana.org, (www.canadiana.org), a full-text online collection that contains documents about Canada's history from the first European contact to the nineteenth century. Bibliography of Native North Americans, Human Relations Area Files, 1976.

Hathi Trust Hathi Trust--a repository of digitized books and serials drawn from major academic and research collections from throughout the United States. The database is immense in scope and crosses all disciplinary boundaries. It is particularly valuable in offering full text access to primary sources and materials.

Making of the Modern World This unrivaled online library offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the eve of World War I. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University

Parker Library on the Web The database is a joint venture of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge and Stanford University. Matthew Parker (1504-75) was a powerful figure of the English Reformation who was largely responsible for the Church of England as a national institution. A benefactor to the University of Cambridge, Parker's greatest tangible legacy is library of manuscripts and early printed books entrusted to Corpus Christi College in 1574. The Parker Library's holdings of Old English texts account for a substantial portion of all extant manuscripts in Anglo-Saxon. The library also contains key Anglo-Norman and Middle English texts along with a magnificent collection of illuminated manuscripts. Scholars in a variety of disciplines - including historians of art, music, science, literature, politics and religion - will find invaluable resources in the Parker Library.

William Shakespeare Oxford Scholarly Editions Online Oxford Scholarly Editions Online--William Shakespeare--the database provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of Shakespeare's works. Each title within the Shakespeare collection presents the full text of the work, as established by an authoritative editor, accompanied by the editors record of important variations in that text, and interpretative and explanatory notes. Most also have introductions placing the work and the author in a historical context, and explaining the editorial principles and the history of the text. Oxford Scholarly Editions Online--William Shakespeare--the database provides an interlinked collection of authoritative Oxford editions of Shakespeare's works. Each title within the Shakespeare collection presents the full text of the work, as established by an authoritative editor, accompanied by the editors record of important variations in that text, and interpretative and explanatory notes. Most also have introductions placing the work and the author in a historical context, and explaining the editorial principles and the history of the text. 

Subject Guide