Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Literature before 1600: Home

Welcome to English Resource Materials

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) 

For more than a century, the undisputed authority on the English language. Includes 300,000 entries and 59 million words. 

 [Title page: A Compendious Dictionary for the English Language, by Noah Webster, 1806]

Featured Resources

CHECK OUT THESE NEW PRIMARY SOURCES !

English Short Title Catalogue  (ESTC)This catalogue provides a comprehensive index to all books published in England and its territories between 1483 and 1800. This index includes records of all materials in the two collections EEBO and ECCO as well as records to many titles as yet undigitized. All titles that are not yet digitized are available in microfilm in the library. (Over 480,000 titles)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) TCP (Text Creation Partnership) Early English Books OnlineTCP (Text Creation Partnership)Through a joint effortspearheaded by Oxford and Michigan universitiesthe earliest extant edition of every English-language work published during the first two centuries of printing in England have been digitized and made fully searchable. The EEBO-TCP corpus covers the period from 1473 to 1700 and is estimated to comprise more than two million pages and nearly a billion words. It represents a history of the printed word in England from the birth of the printing press to the reign of William and Mary. The database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. (Roughly 25,000 items)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Oxford and Michigan universities continue in this collection to digitize books indexed in the ESTC. This collection begins the year that EEBO stops and continues through 1800. Like EEBO, the database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Made fully searchable.   (About 2500 items)

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Beth McGowan
Contact:
(815) 753-0255

FML 4th Floor Rare Book Room
Subjects: English, Medicine