Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
Hathi Trust--a repository of digitized books and serials drawn from major academic and research collections from throughout the United States. The database is immense in scope and crosses all disciplinary boundaries. It is particularly valuable in offering full text access to primary sources and materials.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance, represents the most comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. Since 1984, the Theater Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theater and performance in 126 countries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A massive index and abstracting service focused on the subject areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the index is international in scope, and incorporates both periodicals and books. Coverage is 1963 to the present. Abstracts Only.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature--As a key part of Western literary and cultural history, British and Irish literature encompasses a massive range of periods, authors, and works that make it one of the most active fields in academia today. As such, this area of study invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about every applicable area.
New York Review of Books This link opens in a new window
NYRB represents one of the finest literary and intellectual journals in the English Language. This archival version extends from 1963 to the present, and comprehends more that 850 back issues and 16,000 articles. The database is fully searchable by keyword, date range, author and article type.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2006 This link opens in a new window
The TLS is one of the premier contemporary literary reviews.
This mirror to the cultural history of our century - fully indexed with most of the original contributors now revealed for the first time - delivers unparalleled research information to scholars, students and librarians. Coverage is 1902 to 2006.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
An index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals addressing all academic areas. Coverage is 1990 to the present. ArticleFirst is in First Search. Some Full Text.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
Using FIND IT to Access Full Text
When the full text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, click on the FIND IT button. Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to full load with options.
- IF THE FULL TEXT ARTICLE IS AVAILABLE ONLINE THROUGH NIU, go to the View Online section for links to the electronic resources that provide access to the journal. NOTE: The first link listed should take you directly to the full text of the article. However, you may be taken to the journal page, so you will have to locate the specific article using citation information (i.e. year, volume, issue). Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to fully load with options.
IF THE FULL TEXT ARTICLE IS NOT AVAILABLE THROUGH NIU LIBRARIES, request the article through ILLiad by clicking on the Request from Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) link. The form will expand to submit the request. Delivery time is typically 3-7 days. Please be patient for the new HuskieSearch page to fully load with options.
Important Note: Only faculty may request articles through Get It Now when the option is available. However, if the article is not needed ASAP, we encourage faculty to use ILLiad even if Get it Now is available because it is a more cost-effective way for the library to acquire articles.