Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
The database features comprehensive literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriter, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Victorian Literature
Although the study of Victorian literature has a rich and well established critical literature, it remains a highly active field due to its popularity with students and researchers alike, and is constantly responding to the regular emergence of new interpretations and theoretical ideas. In addition to this extensive body of scholarship, the study of Victorian literature has been quick to move online so that today' students and researchers have ready access to key primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources. Rather than sifting through these ever-expanding mountains of information that may or may not yield relevant results, students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography--The new and updated database includes 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2005.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
For more than a century, the undisputed authority on the English language. Includes 300,000 entries and 59 million words. Full Text.