Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

British Literature from 1660-1800: Primary Materials

Early English Resources

English Short Title Catalogue  (ESTC)This catalogue provides a comprehensive index to all books published in England and its territories between 1483 and 1800. This index includes records of all materials in the two collections EEBO and ECCO as well as records to many titles as yet undigitized.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) --TCP (Text Creation Partnership) Early English Books OnlineTCP (Text Creation Partnership)Through a joint effortspearheaded by Oxford and Michigan universitiesthe earliest extant edition of every English-language work published during the first two centuries of printing in England have been digitized and made fully searchable. The EEBO-TCP corpus covers the period from 1473 to 1700 and is estimated to comprise more than two million pages and nearly a billion words. It represents a history of the printed word in England from the birth of the printing press to the reign of William and Mary. The database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Oxford and Michigan universities continue in this collection to digitize books indexed in the ESTC. This collection begins the year that EEBO stops and continues through 1800. Like EEBO, the database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Made fully searchable.   

Additional Primary Sources

Ben Jonson Online The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online presents a complete reappraisal of this major Renaissance writer, complementing and extending the seven-volume print edition of Jonsons works published in 2012. It offers a clear sense, afforded by no other previous edition, of the shape, scale, and variety of the entire Jonsonian canon. At the same time, it is the first edition to use digital technology to give a dynamic insight into Jonsons processes of composition and to reveal the editorial choices which underpin the modernized text.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog provides a search interface to the CRL makes "vast collections of newspapers, microform, journals, dissertations and other materials". Materials are "available via interlibrary loan, through electronic document delivery or in its reading room". The University Libraries is a member. 

Early Encounters in North America, Economist Historical Archive The database offers a wide range of images and full-text materials relating to the early exploration and settlement of North America. The collection has been compiled by consulting a number of bibliographies, including: A Biobibliography of Native American Writers, 1772-1924 by Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr. and James W. Parins. Sources for the ethnography of northeastern North America to 1611, by David B. Quinn. The French image of America: a chronological and subject bibliography of French books printed before 1816 relating to the British North American colonies and the United States by Durand Echeverria and Everett C. Wilkie, Jr. Wagner & Camp's The Plains and the Rockies, a critical bibliography of exploration, adventure and travel in the American West, 1800-1865. Robert Rogers Hubach's Early Midwestern Travel Narratives, An Annotated Bibliography, 1634-1850. Candiana.org, (www.canadiana.org), a full-text online collection that contains documents about Canada's history from the first European contact to the nineteenth century. Bibliography of Native North Americans, Human Relations Area Files, 1976.

Eighteenth Century Collections—Law The database reveals the development of law and legal institutions in the British Empire between 1701 and 1800. Topics include acts, criminal and international law, appellants' cases and more.

John Johnson Collection An Archive of Printed Ephemera--This collection--originating from University of Oxford's Bodleian Library--provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.

London Times Digital Archive This database presents online access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of the 19th and 20th-century history and culture. The database includes the complete pages of every issue of the London Times from 1785 to 1985 forming a complete chronicle of the period.

Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 The database comprehends an extremely diverse array of trials pleaded throughout the British Empire, the US and the world. The trials are of more than merely legal interest--those studying history, politics, economics and society in general will find the database furnishes a vast storehouse of primary documents.

Making of the Modern World This unrivaled online library offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the eve of World War I. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University

Pepys Diary The Diary of Samuel Pepys, Daily entries from 17th century London.

John Milton Reading Room The complete poetry and selected prose of John Milton, with introductions, research guides, and hyperlinked annotations. Thomas H. Luxon, General Editor © Trustees of Dartmouth College, 1997-2015.

Subject Guide