Primary Sources
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog provides a search interface to the CRL makes "vast collections of newspapers, microform, journals, dissertations and other materials". Materials are "available via interlibrary loan, through electronic document delivery or in its reading room". The University Libraries is a member.
Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online1543-1945 In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, The Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages. This online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This database includes tens of thousands of primary documents, document projects with introductory essays that interpret the documents, a definitive bibliography, related web links, a Dictionary of Social Movements, and an enormous collection of images. The collection is not static and additions will be loaded on an ongoing basis.
Women: Transnational Networks Women: Transnational Networks--including a wide array of primary source documentsserials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visualsWomen: Transnational Networks focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. Source libraries include the Library of Congress, the London School of Economics and Political Science Library, and the Library of the Society of Friends.
Early English Resources
- Making of the Modern World, Part One (1450-1850) and Part Two (1851-1914) This link opens in a new windowThis unrivaled online library offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the eve of World War I. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections — the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School — along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)This catalogue provides a comprehensive index to all books published in England between 1483 and 1800. This index includes all materials in the two collections EEBO and ECCO as well as many titles as yet undigitized. This tool is essential to access the full range of materials in print in this early stage of printing.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) --TCP (Text Creation Partnership) Early English Books OnlineTCP (Text Creation Partnership)Through a joint effortspearheaded by Oxford and Michigan universitiesthe earliest extant edition of every English-language work published during the first two centuries of printing in England have been digitized and made fully searchable. The EEBO-TCP corpus covers the period from 1473 to 1700 and is estimated to comprise more than two million pages and nearly a billion words. It represents a history of the printed word in England from the birth of the printing press to the reign of William and Mary. The database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Oxford and Michigan universities continue in this collection to digitize books indexed in the ESTC. This collection begins the year that EEBO stops and continues through 1800. Like EEBO, the database contains texts of incomparable significance for research across all academic disciplines, including literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Made fully searchable.
