NIU Libraries Search Help: Home

With NIU Libraries Search you can:

• Search multiple resources simultaneously, including print and eBooks, movies, articles from some of our databases and collections from 90+ libraries in Illinois.
• Make Interlibrary Loan, Illinois Libraries (I-Share), and digitization requests through “My Library Account”.
• Save and manage your search results, as well as create an RSS feed.

NIU Libraries Search allows you to search multiple library collections simultaneously, but what kinds of resources can you find with each of these options?

• NIU Libraries (default): Search for articles, books, course reserves and other materials available online or in print from NIU Libraries.
• NIU and Beyond: Broadens your search to include materials from other Illinois libraries (through I-Share) and online articles and resources you can request through interlibrary loan. 
• WorldCat: Search library collections around the world. Use this to find books and other physical materials not available from “NIU and Beyond” that you’d like to order from out-of-state or outside the US.  

Database: A searchable collection of articles, books, and other resources you usually can’t find on Google. Examples: JSTOR or Academic Search Complete

FIND IT: A button in databases that will show you how to get the full text of an item from NIU or Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan: a service that allows you to borrow physical books, order digital articles and other materials from other libraries when NIU doesn't have them. Sometimes called NIU Illiad

I-Share: a group of 90+ academic libraries in Illinois that share resources. NIU faculty/staff/students can order, pickup, or drop-off books at any I-Share library. 

WorldCat/NIUILLIAD: Interlibrary loan of materials outside of I-Share

Location: Where the item is stored or shelved (e.g. Graphic Novels or Main Collection)

My Library Account: Provides information on loans, requests, fines, and blocks, as well as personal details, such as the patron email address and expiration date of library credentials

Requests: Items patrons have requested from NIU or another I-Share Library that have not yet been checked out to the patron

Subject Guides: Webpages with detailed information and links to resources on a particular topic or field of study; these are created and curated by subject specialist librarians