Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapy: Core Article Databases

This guide is for physical therapy students and faculty.

Core Library Databases

Core Web-based Rehabilitation Databases

REHABDATA -- Rehabilitation Information Center, it  is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present. (From REHABDATA website)

ABLEDATA -- contains objective information on almost 40,000 assistive products. For each product, we provide a detailed description of the product's functions and features, price information (when available), and contact information for the product's manufacturer and/or distributors. We also offer information on non-commercial prototypes, customized and one-of-a-kind products, and do-it-yourself designs. To select products most appropriate to your needs, we suggest combining information provided by AbleData with professional advice, product evaluations, and hands-on product trials. (From ABLEDATA website)
 
CIRRIE -- Database of International Rehabilitation Research currently contains over 145,000 citations of international rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present.(From CIRRIE website)

PEDro -- Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 23,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health. (Description from PEDro website)

Subject Guide