Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Consumer Health Information

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Consumer Health

CAPHIS Top 100 List

This list is compiled by the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Library Association to provide consumer health sites with reliable information on various topics to consumers.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Information and health tips on current health issues, disease and injury, and much more. Also provides access to data and statistics collected by the CDC.

Department of Health and Human Services

Provides information on a number of topics ranging from Diseases & Conditions, Families & Children, Drug & Food Information, Policies & Regulations, and much more.

FDA Consumer Health Information

Supported by the U.S. Food and Drug Administratation (FDA). Covers a variety of topics and includes news alerts along with links to related articles in FDA Consumer, the official magazine of the FDA.

Healthfinder

Reliable consumer health and human services information developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. It can lead you to selected online publications, clearinghouses, databases, web sites, support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and not-for-profit organizations that produce reliable information for the public.

MedlinePlus

Sponsored by the National Library of Medicine. Carefully selected links to Web resources with health and drug information as well as a medical encyclopedia with pictures, a medical dictionary, health news, and other resources.

Wisconsin Consumer Guide to Health Care

Helps Wisconsin residents make better health care choices by providing easy access to useful information. Links to Wisconsin-based organizations and databases as well as to comprehensive national sites.