Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Philosophy and Religion

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Philosophy

Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture (Sage eReference)

Surveying the major facts, concepts, theories, and speculations that infuse our present comprehension of time, the Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, and Culture explores the contributions of scientists, philosophers, theologians, and creative artists from ancient times to the present.

Oxford Bibliographies Online–Philosophy  

Designed to provide authoritative guidance. In contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, this innovative online reference tool will combine the best features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography put together in a style that responds to the way people perform research online.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field before they are made public.

Religion

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions (1st rev. ed.)

Contains entries on all the major and many minor religions, including Christianity, Judaism, Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, Jainism, Shinto, Sikhism, and Taoism. Over 500 entries cover movements, sects, and cults, from Cargo Cults and the New Age movement to Rastafarian and Soka Gakkai.