Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Music

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Music

Classic Material: The Hip-Hop Album Guide 

A collection of critical essays on a core collection of hip-hop albums. Wang is a writer on hip hop music and a professor of sociology.

A Compendium of Musical Instruments and Instrumental Terminology in the Bible.

A reference work featuring scholarly essay chapters on biblical music instruments. A few chapters treat biblical musical instruments encyclopedically by classification.

Music Tech Dictionary: A Glossary of Audio-Related Terms and Technologies 

As its name suggests, this is an alphabetically arranged dictionary of music technological terms. Gallagher is a noted writer, teacher in music technology, and a composer.

Off-Broadway Musicals Since 1919: From Greenwich Village Follies to the Toxic Avenger.

A collection of encyclopedic entries and review essays on off-Broadway musicals, roughly chronologically arranged by decade. Hischak is a playwright, theater professor, and author of many reference books on theater and musical theater.

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online provides electronic access to Grove Music Online, the premier English-language source of scholarly encyclopedic information for the field of music. Articles are taken from the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed. Additionally, users can search and refer to content in the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.

Sourcebook for Research in Music, 2nd ed.  

A classified bibliography of research and reference sources in music. Each chapter contains an explanation of the sources listed. The first chapter, “Introductory Materials,” contains lists and definitions of bibliographical terms in English, German, and French, as well as outlines of music classification according to Library of Congress Classification and Dewey Decimal Classification.