Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Foreign Languages and Literature

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Linguistics

Dictionary of Spanish

Over 56,000 entries and over 10,999 audio pronunciations.

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Linguistics

 

An entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students and scholars. Provides direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources. Organizing the resource around discrete subject entries will allow for quick and easy navigation that users expect when working online.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Initially offering millions of words, phrases, and translations, in French, German, Spanish and Italian, the site will expand to include many other languages such as Russian, Chinese, Japanese and Polish. Included are usage examples and illustrative phrases, grammar guidance, click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, and help with spelling and punctuation. Also included are hundreds of correspondence templates including sample letters, CVs and resumes to provide practical help with writing in each language. Contextualized language reference help includes notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, and Words of the Day.

 

Literature

Biography Reference Bank

The database contains biographical information relating to more than 500,000 individuals. In addition, there are full-text links to more than 380,000 articles. The database also comprises images, books review excerpts, and the ability to filter searches according to name, profession, place of origin, gender, ethnicity, etc.

Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature

Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts (from the biographical to the literary to the historical) in which literature can be viewed. Identifies the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.

Masterplots, 4th edition

The database furnishes fundamental reference data, plot synopses where applicable, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English. The essays are in alphabetical order by title, and each includes an annotated bibliography to aid readers in further study.

The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

The complete and authoritative reference guide to the classical world and its literary heritage. It not only presents the reader with all the essential facts about the authors, tales, and characters from ancient myth and literature, but it also places these details in the wider contexts of the history and society of the Greek and Roman worlds. With an extensive web of cross-references, a useful chronological table, and location maps (all of which have been brought fully up to date), this volume traces the development of literary forms and the classical allusions which have become embedded in our Western culture.

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms

Provides clear, concise, and often witty definitions of the most troublesome literary terms from abjection to zeugma. It includes extensive coverage of traditional drama, versification, rhetoric, and literary history, as well as updated and extended advice on recommended further reading and a pronunciation guide to more than 200 terms. New to this fully revised edition are recommended entry-level web links. Boasting over 1,200 entries, it is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language.

The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable

This authoritative dictionary draws on Oxford’s unrivalled bank of reference and language resources in order to explore the stories behind names and sayings that can be found in classic literature or today’s news. Questions it seeks to answer include: What are Anglo-Saxon attitudes? Who first tried to nail jelly to the wall? When was the Dreamtime? Would you want the Midas touch? Should you worry about grey goo? Answers cover a range of topics, such as classical and other mythologies, history, religion, folk customs, superstitions, science and technology, philosophy, and popular culture.