Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Physics and Astronomy

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Physics and Astronomy

A Dictionary of Astronomy (2nd rev.ed.)

Over 4,300 up-to-date entries covering all aspects of astronomy. This dictionary covers everything from space exploration and the equipment involved to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time. The dictionary also includes biographical entries on eminent astronomers. 

A Dictionary of Physics (6th ed.)

Over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry. 

The Dictionary of Scientists 

From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. 

A Dictionary of Space Exploration (3rd ed.)

This dictionary covers the fascinating world of space exploration and every aspect of the technology involved. It explains the jargon used in space exploration, including such terms as ‘cherry picker’ and ‘burp firing; it also provides detailed articles on key subjects, such as the Apollo project, as well as a comprehensive chronology of space missions.  

Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units

This comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.  

Magic Universe: A Grand Tour of Modern Science

An engaging tour covering the whole of modern science, from transgenic crops to quantum tangles. Each topic tells a story, making the book eminently browsable. Packed with information, yet carrying its immense learning lightly, this is a book that would appeal to anyone with the slightest interest in how the world works.            

The Oxford Companion to Cosmology

A comprehensive, yet highly accessible, encyclopedic overview of cosmology. Its 350+ in-depth entries—ranging from cosmic inflation and dark energy to Higgs boson and neutrinos—both illuminate the ideas behind the current understanding of the universe and outline the fundamental physics from which those ideas emerge.          

The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science

An unparalleled history of the field invaluable to anyone with an interest in the technology, ideas, discoveries, and learned institutions that have shaped our world over the past five centuries. Focusing on the period from the Renaissance to the early twenty-first century, the articles cover all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies. 

 

The New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors (2nd ed.)

This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. 

Magic Universe: A Grand Tour of Modern Science