Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Mathematics and Statistics

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Mathematics

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics (4th ed.)

Authoritative and reliable, with 3,000 entries ranging from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics. Fully revised and updated. 

A Dictionary of Statistics (3rd rev. ed.)

This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,000 entries on all aspects of statistics including terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies. 

Encyclopedia of Complexity and Systems Science

Click in Log in; chose Log in via Shibboleth or Athens; in Shibboleth select NIU in the dropout; then enter your NIU ID and PW 

Provides an authoritative single source for understanding and applying the concepts of complexity theory together with the tools and measures for analyzing complex systems in all fields of science and engineering. 

The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics  Brian Everitt

Historical Encyclopedia of Natural and Mathematical Sciences

This encyclopedia provides a saga of the history of ideas, discovery, and invention in the natural and mathematical sciences from over 100 generations of great thinkers from Thales to Feyman.  

The Mathematics Teacher's Handbook

This handbook provides mathematics teachers with practical advice on: starting teaching in the mathematics classroom; developing an effective classroom culture; understanding the balance between teaching and learning mathematics; using assessment as an integral part of teaching and learning; and, progressing mathematical concept development.  

 

 Fundamentals of Actuarial Mathematics  S. David Promislow