Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Library Science

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Library Science

Dictionary of Information and Library Management (2nd ed.)

This comprehensive dictionary covers all aspects of librarianship and information and knowledge management. Designed to equip the trainee librarian or information management student with core industry terminology, this fully revised edition includes thousands of terms connected with information management, classification, cataloguing and electronic knowledge management. Handy supplements include proof correcting marks, classification systems, book prizes and awards, information skills, and a list of key resources on the Web.

Learn Reference Work (1st North American ed.)

Although written for library science students and new library employees, students and novice library users will find it useful. A combination textbook/workbook, the book reviews all the major types of reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, fast facts, biographical services, geographical services, bibliographies and library catalogs, directories, indexes and abstracts, government documents, and the Internet. After completing the practice exercises, readers should have a good understanding of a variety of current reference tools and an introduction to the types of questions each is designed to answer.

LibrarySpeak: a Glossary of Terms in Librarianship and Information Management

Librarianship is one of many areas of work in which everyday exchanges include technical language, acronyms, and abbreviations. LibrarySpeak contains terms used in libraries, especially in North America, with an emphasis on computers and the Internet.