Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Computer Science

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Computer Science

A Dictionary of Computing (6th ed.)  

The 6th edition has been fully revised, making it the most up-to-date and authoritative guide to computing available. This edition has expanded coverage of networking and databases and has added biographical entries.  It is a comprehensive reference work encompassing all aspects of the subject. Containing over 6,500 entries, it is indispensable for students of computing.    

A Dictionary of the Internet (3rd ed.)

This dictionary provides thousands of terms related to the Web, including software technology, jargon, e-commerce, security, and the technical and organizational infrastructure of the Internet. Links to relevant websites have also been included. This new online-only edition has 482 new entries while 9 out-of-date entries have been deleted.  

The Handbook of Human-Machine Interaction: A Human-Centered Design Approach 

This handbook is designed as a research guide that will both inform readers about the basics of human-machine interaction from academic and industrial perspectives while also providing a view ahead at the means through which human-centered designers, including engineers and human factors specialists, will attempt to design and develop human-machine systems.  

The Handbook of Information and Computer Ethics 

Himma, Kenneth Einar.  

Handbook of Natural Language Processing

Dale, Robert.  

Handbook of Software Quality Assurance  

Schulmeyer, G. Gordon.