Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Encyclopedias & More: Geography

Find specialized academic encyclopedia entries, dictionary definitions and more!

Geography

Color Landform Atlas of the United States

This is Version 2 of this site. The homepage consists of links to each of the 50 states, US maps, background information about those maps, an elevation key for the relief maps, Web sites that have used Sterner's maps, and Web awards the site has won.

EREF-Geography

Arctic Science and Technology Information System – A project of the University of Calgary, this source contains over 71,000 records describing research projects and publications on northern Canada. No full text is available.

Dictionary of Environment and Conservation

This volume provides 8,500 entries on the social and scientific aspects of conservation and environmental studies, with thirty focus articles on such contemporary issues as air pollution, El Nino, biodiversity, and sustainability. Appendices provide the texts of international environmental treaties and other background material.

Dictionary of Geography (4 ed.)

The 2009 edition of  the standard dictionary for the science of geography and its sub-disciplines , this text offers 6500 terms and concepts from both physical and human geography.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society

Issued in 2007, this resource  examines the complex intersection of environmental issues with social movements and political considerations, both nationally and on a global level. Each of the 1,200 entries provides a short bibliography of print and online sources.

Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science

Being a well-balanced reference work on a basic component of contemporary geographic science, this encyclopedia presents the basics of GIS development, factors, and its application to various fields that illustrate both potentiality and problems.

Encyclopedia of Global Change

A useful introduction to a complex and rapidly evolving area of geography – references in the entries are linked to the NIU catalog.

Encyclopedia of Human Geography

A readable overview of the major concepts, terms, and issues in the complex and changing fields of human geographic research. Readers should be aware that this work was published in 2006.

Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West

This distinctive work combines historical and geographic information on population shifts and components across the western United States, beginning with the Native American cultures and reaching into the late twentieth century. Each entry offers resources for further investigation.

Encyclopedia of Urban Studies

The purpose of this two-volume work is to present the basic theories, important studies, and major figures influential in the development of current research in the interdisciplinary field of urban studies. A selection of the planet’s urban areas (such as Chicago, Illinois) is also included.

GEOBIB

Not longer available. The online version of the basic Current Geographical Publications, this index is built and maintained at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. No full text is provided.

Great Lakes Information Network

A site created through a partnership of hundreds of state, provincial, regional, and federal organizations, and agencies offering environmental, economic, and ecological coverage of the binational Great Lakes area. A search engine permitting free text scanning is provided.

Oxford Handbook of Climate Change and Society

Handbook with materials about society's relationship with climate change.

THOMAS superseded by Congress.gov

Congress.gov

Based at the Library of Congress, this resource allows access to the full text of bills being considered in the House and Senate, the Congressional Record, and the U.S. Code. Very useful for tracking proposed environmental legislation and responses to global warming.

Urban Planning, 1794-1918: An International Anthology of Articles, Conference Papers, and Reports

John W. Reps (Cornell University) has compiled a bibliography of original source material in urban planning, primarily covering the 19th century. This wide-ranging site is a trove of information. Each bibliographic entry is annotated with a brief essay that includes a biography of the author and a discussion of the work's importance. Subjects covered include the principles, standards, and procedures for European, American, and Australian city planning.

WIND and SEA: The Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Internet locator

Not longer available. An up-front index lists 40 main topics, from air pollution to wetlands. Of these, oceanography, weather, climate, coastal studies, endangered species, the history of oceanic and atmospheric sciences, and wetlands are categories most relevant geography.