Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML100 .H37 2003
Publication Date: 2003-11-28
This classic reference work, the best one-volume music dictionary available, has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. The Harvard Dictionary of Music has long been admired for its wide range as well as its reliability. This treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock. Throughout this Fourth Edition, existing articles have been fine-tuned and new entries added so that the dictionary fully reflects current music scholarship and recent developments in musical culture. Encyclopedia-length articles by notable experts alternate with short entries for quick reference, including definitions and identifications of works and instruments. More than 220 drawings and 250 musical examples enhance the text. This is an invaluable book that no music lover can afford to be without.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML100 .N482 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-02
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is an authority on all aspects of music. It is widely used by academics and the professional community. First published in 1980, it is a successor to the five-volume Dictionary of Music and Musicians edited by Sir George Grove in 1878-83.
ONLINE VERSION AVAILABLE
Bibliographies and Research Guides
Guide to Library Research in Music by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML3797 .B29 2008
Publication Date: 2008-09-18
A Guide to Library Research in Music introduces the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. This informative textbook provides concrete examples of different types of writing, offering a thorough introduction to music literature. It clearly describes various information-searching techniques and library-based organizational systems and introduces the array of music resources available. Pauline Shaw Bayne has cleanly organized the material in three succinct parts, allowing for three independent tracks of study. Part I treats essentials of the research process. It explains starting point resources like library catalogs, dictionaries, and bibliographies; addresses scholarly documentation, the use of style manuals, and basics of copyright; and provides samples of common written research products. Part 2 develops skills and strategies for library and Internet-based research, describing database structures and library catalogs, subject searching in catalogs and journal indexes, keyword searching techniques, related-record searching and citation databases, and the use of experts, the Internet, and thematic catalogs. In Part 3, Bayne describes music uniform titles and select resources that follow the organization of a music library, such as score collections, books and journals in music literature, and music teaching publications. Each chapter concludes with learning exercises to aid the students' concept application and skill development. Appendixes provide short cuts to specific topics in library organizational systems, including Library of Congress Subject Headings and Classification. The concluding bibliography provides a quick overview of music literature and resources, emphasizing electronic and print publications since 2000, but including standard references that all music researchers should know.
Sourcebook for Research in Music by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML113 .C68 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
The Sourcebook for Research in Music, in this revised and greatly expanded second edition, is an invaluable guide to the researcher in navigating the vast proliferation of materials in music research. The editors emphasize English-language and recent sources, and also include essential materials in other languages. An opening chapter of introductory materials, including a list of common bibliographical terms with definitions, German and French bibliographical terms, and the plan of the Library of Congress and the Dewey Decimal music classification systems, is followed by seven bibliographical chapters, covering lists of sources as well as collective annotations that introduce and identify specific items. A reference tool containing varied information relating to research in music, the Sourcebook will serve as a classroom text and as a resource for individual music researchers, librarians, faculty members, students, performing and teaching musicians, and musical amateurs. Phillip D. Crabtree and Donald H. Foster are both retired from the faculty at the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music. D. University.
Music Reference and Research Materials by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML113 .D83 1997
Publication Date: 1997-07-25
This text has been the standard guide to source literature of music and contains critically annotated listings of over 3,500 key sources. This comprehensive guide to reference sources is organized into chapters by category of source. The text's organization introduces students to a vast array of sources to include: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias; Histories and Chronologies; Sources of Systematic and Historical Musicology; Bibliographies of Music, Music Literature, and Music Business; Reference Works on Individual Composers and Their Music; Catalogs of Libraries and Musical Instrument Collections; Discographies; Yearbooks; Directories; Electronic Resources.
Music Library and Research Skills by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML3797 .G68 2009
Publication Date: 2008-08-11
Jane Gottlieb provides an introductory text for courses in music research, methodology and librarianship. She introduces basic concepts in conducting research, provides sources and shows students how to synthesise their research.
Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets, and Monuments of Music by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML113 .H55 1997
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Inventories some 8,000 historically important collected editions of music, including numbered monumental sets and composers' collected editions, as well as musicologically significant publishers' series and anthologies. The compilers have paid particular attention to series and sets published in eas
International inventory of musical sources
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML113 .I6
Introductory matter in English, French, and German. Each issue covers a different subject. Laurie Sampsel includes a guide to this complex resource on pp. 257-61 of her book Music Research: A Handbook (New York: Oxford University Press, 2009).
Music Research by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML113 .S28 2013
Publication Date: 2012-07-24
Clear, concise, and practical, Music Research: A Handbook, Second Edition, introduces students to the major print and electronic research tools available today. With a strong focus on the connection between music and writing, this comprehensive guide is ideal for use in both undergraduate and graduate music courses that require students to engage in library research or to write research papers. FEATURES Rich pedagogy (evaluation checklists, guidelines for theses, appendices on major documentation styles, Library of Congress subject headings/call numbers, annotated bibliographies, and more) Expanded overview of the research process and various methodologies Updated chapter on online music content and more integrated coverage of Internet resources Updated companion website (www.oup.com/us/musresearch) containing related links, updates to bibliographies and readings, research tools listed by composer, and lists of core music journals and major professional music associations
Style Manuals and Writing Guides
A Short Guide to Writing about Music by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML3797 .B4 2007
Publication Date: 2006-04-20
Written in a clear and conversational style, A Short Guide to Writing About Music,2e examines a wide range of writing assignments for music courses at all levels of the undergraduate curriculum. Employing a variety of writing samples as a means to illustrate effective writing, this brief and inexpensive text teaches writers how to deftly research and write about music.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: Z253 .U69 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
The Fifteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription Website (http://www.chicagomanualofstyle.org/). In the 1890s, a proofreader at the University of Chicago Press prepared a single sheet of typographic fundamentals intended as a guide for the University community. That sheet grew into a pamphlet, and the pamphlet grew into a book; the first edition of the Manual of Style, published in 1906. Now in its fifteenth edition, The Chicago Manual of Style; the essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field; is more comprehensive and easier to use than ever before.
Music in Words by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML3797 .H537 2009
Publication Date: 2009-02-12
Music in Words is a compact guide to researching and writing about music, addressing all the issues that anyone who writes about music--from students to professional musicians and critics--may confront when putting together anything from brief program notes to a lengthy thesis. The book is a writing guide and a reference manual in one: the first part, a "how to" section, offers a clear explanation of the purpose of music research and how it is to be done, including basic introductions to the most necessary tools for musical inquiry (with special emphasis on strategic use of the internet), and how they can be accessed and used. The second part is a compendium of information on style and sources for quick reference, including a straightforward presentation of the purpose and use of citation and reference systems as they are applied to and in music. As a whole, the volume gives readers a clear picture of how to write about music at different levels and for different purposes in a handy, thoroughly cross-referenced format. This American edition has been thoroughly revised and expanded, and features an extensive section on writing for the Internet and new sections on writing for jazz, popular music, world musics, and ethnography. Additionally, a companion website presents a broad range of writing samples and links to key resources.
Writing about Music by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: ML3797 .W75 2008
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
How do you spell "Mendelssohn"? Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this completely revised and updated resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with classical music in print. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations. One section discusses program notes, another explains the requirements for submitting manuscripts and electronic files. A new section outlines best practices for student writers. An appendix lists common problem words.
The Elements of Style by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: PE1408 .S772 2000 c.2
Publication Date: 1999-07-23
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Call Number: MUSIC REFERENCE: LB2369 .T8 2007
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
Dewey. Bellow. Strauss. Friedman. The University of Chicago has been the home of some of the most important thinkers of the modern age. But perhaps no name has been spoken with more respect than Turabian. The dissertation secretary at Chicago for decades, Kate Turabian literally wrote the book on the successful completion and submission of the student paper. Her Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, created from her years of experience with research projects across all fields, has sold more than seven million copies since it was first published in 1937. Now, with this seventh edition, Turabian’s Manual has undergone its most extensive revision, ensuring that it will remain the most valuable handbook for writers at every level—from first-year undergraduates, to dissertation writers apprehensively submitting final manuscripts, to senior scholars who may be old hands at research and writing but less familiar with new media citation styles. Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, and the late Wayne C. Booth—the gifted team behind The Craft of Research—and the University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff combined their wide-ranging expertise to remake this classic resource. They preserve Turabian’s clear and practical advice while fully embracing the new modes of research, writing, and source citation brought about by the age of the Internet. Booth, Colomb, and Williams significantly expand the scope of previous editions by creating a guide, generous in length and tone, to the art of research and writing. Growing out of the authors’ best-selling Craft of Research, this new section provides students with an overview of every step of the research and writing process, from formulating the right questions to reading critically to building arguments and revising drafts. This leads naturally to the second part of the Manual for Writers, which offers an authoritative overview of citation practices in scholarly writing, as well as detailed information on the two main citation styles (“notes-bibliography” and “author-date”). This section has been fully revised to reflect the recommendations of the fifteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style and to present an expanded array of source types and updated examples, including guidance on citing electronic sources. The final section of the book treats issues of style—the details that go into making a strong paper. Here writers will find advice on a wide range of topics, including punctuation, table formatting, and use of quotations. The appendix draws together everything writers need to know about formatting research papers, theses, and dissertations and preparing them for submission. This material has been thoroughly vetted by dissertation officials at colleges and universities across the country. This seventh edition of Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations is a classic reference revised for a new age. It is tailored to a new generation of writers using tools its original author could not have imagined—while retaining the clarity and authority that generations of scholars have come to associate with the name Turabian.