Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases useful for music research
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
International Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This resource provides online access to 379 current periodicals in music from more that 20 nations, with retrospective citations available back to 1874. A title list of
journals covered is provided. All records entered since 1996 contain an abstract. Abstracts Only.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
An online bibliography of music reference and research sources, containing more than 7,300 citations and updating many of the listings found in Vincent H. Duckles' and Ida Reed's Music Reference and Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography, 5th ed. (New York: Schirmer Books, 1997; call no. MUR ML113 .D83 1997). The site, maintained at Brigham Young University, also features a blog and other offerings.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music--the study of music, musicology, is a relatively new discipline in academe, beginning in late nineteenth-century Germany. In the second half of the twentieth century, ethnomusicology became a viable academic discipline spawning a scholarly literature for the study of all music not treated by traditional (historical) musicology. Oxford Bibliographies in Music takes a pragmatic approach, based on the past and emerging literature about music: if authors have found something they define as music worthy of serious study, it is music.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Initially offering millions of words, phrases, and translations, in French, German, Spanish and Italian, the site will expand to include many other languages such as Russian, Chinese, Japanese and Polish. Included are usage examples and illustrative phrases, grammar guidance, click-through verb tables and pronunciation charts, explanations of grammatical terms, and help with spelling and punctuation. Also included are hundreds of correspondence templates including sample letters, CVs and resumes to provide practical help with writing in each language. Contextualized language reference help includes notes on life and culture, guidance on grammar and idiomatic usage, and Words of the Day.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002). Articles that have been updated since their appearance in print are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
ProQuest Digital Dissertations This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Digital Dissertations-- Provides bibliographic citations, and full-text access for doctoral dissertations and master's thesis completed at over 1,000 accredited colleges and universities worldwide.
RILM Abstracts and Music Literature This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations on international music corresponding to the printed Repertoire International de Literature Musicale Abstracts of Music Literature, including citations in 202 languages and all formats of scholarly works. Also provides concert review, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals if they are of scholarly interest. Coverage is 1969 to the present, and the database is updated monthly. Abstracts Only.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
The largest bibliographic database numbering over 35 million records. In addition to books, the database includes sound recordings, videos, computer files, maps, etc. Abstracts Only.