Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's Literature: Finding Juvenile Literature

Finding Juvenile Literature

ALSC Book & Media Awards Shelf

This collection of nearly 2,000 books, recordings, apps, and websites for children spans 100 years, reflecting the evolution of ALSC’s awards history AND delivering the latest, greatest materials for contemporary readers, listeners, learners, and gamers, as well.

The titles included on this site vary widely as to their intended audience—children anywhere from birth up to 14 years of age. We encourage parents and caregivers to actively engage in the selection of media with their children, as reading skills, cognitive and maturity levels, and interests vary from child to child. When looking at older winners especially, please remember that they were selected as the best of THEIR time, not necessarily the best of ALL time, and may be quite dated for today's young readers.


 

Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
Jane Addams Peace Association
Focus: books that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and equality.

Alex Award
ALA, YALSA
Focus:  ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults (ages 12 through 18).

Amelia Bloomer Book List
ALA, Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table 
Focus: books with significant feminist content.

American Indian Youth Literature Award
American Indian Library Association
Focus: writing and illustrations by and about American Indians.

Américas Award
Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs
Focus: books that authentically and engagingly portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the U.S.

Arab American Book Award
Arab American National Museum
Focus: books written by and about Arab Americans.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature
Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association
Focus: books about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage.

Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults
ALA, YALSA
Focus: the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18).

Award for Excellence in Poetry and Annual Notable List of Poetry Books and Verse Novels for Children
National Council of Teachers of English
Focus: Award honors a living American poet for their aggregate work, list reflects the best poetry and verse novels for children each year

Bank Street Best Children's Books of the Year
Bank Street College of Education
Focus:  Annual list of outstanding titles considering literary quality, accuracy, the potential impact on young readers, age suitability, positive treatment of ethnic and religious differences, and the absence of stereotypes.

Best Fiction for Young Adults
ALA, YALSA
Focus: recommended reading for ages 12 to 18.

The Christopher Awards
The Christophers
Focus: media that affirm the highest values of the human spirit.

Dolly Gray Children’s Literature Award
Council for Exceptional Children
Focus: books that appropriately portray individuals with developmental disabilities.

Charlotte Huck Award
National Council of Teachers of English
Focus: Outstanding Fiction for Children

Ezra Jack Keats Book Award
Ezra Jack Keats Foundation
Focus: books that portray universal qualities of childhood, strong and supportive family, and multiculturalism.

Coretta Scott King Book Awards
ALA, Ethnic & Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table
Focus: books that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. 

Walter Dean Myers Award
We Need Diverse Books
Focus: books that best exemplify Myers’s commitment to providing children with powerful mirrors and windows.

Middle East Book Award
Middle East Outreach Council
Focus: books for children and young adults that contribute meaningfully to understanding of the Middle East.

National Jewish Book Award
Jewish Book Council
Focus: books of Jewish interest.

Notable Books for a Global Society
International Reading Association
Focus: books that enhance understanding of individuals and cultures throughout the world.

Orbis Pictus Award
National Council of Teachers of English
Focus: Outstanding Nonfiction for Children

Michael L. Printz Award
ALA, YALSA
Focus: a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Rainbow Book List
ALA, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table
Focus: books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content.

Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award
Texas State University
Focus: literature that depicts the Mexican American experience.

Schneider Family Book Award
ALA
Focus: books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Skipping Stones Honor Awards
Skipping Stones Magazine
Focus: multicultural and nature books.

South Asia Book Awards
South Asia National Outreach Consortium
Focus: books that portray South Asia or South Asians living abroad.

Stonewall Book Awards
ALA, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table
Focus: books relating to the GLBT experience.

Sydney Taylor Book Award
Association of Jewish Libraries
Focus: books that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

Carter G. Woodson Book Awards
National Council for the Social Studies
Focus: social studies-related books that depict ethnicity and race relations sensitively and accurately.

Resources gathered from: Association for Library Services to Children (n.d.). Book & media awards. ALA.orghttp://www.ala.org/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia

Diverse BookFinder

A comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). Bates College has cataloged and analyzed trade picture books fitting this criteria that have been published since 2002. You can use the filters to identify titles by race/culture, gender, religion, or other criteria.

Where Can You Find Diverse Books?

Diversebook.org's list of sites which offer recommendations on diverse juvenile materials.

ADL Children's Literature

The Anti-Defamation Leagues resource for recommendations on identity, diversity, bias and social justice. ADL’s collection includes excellent picture, chapter and young adult books, as well as their featured Books of the Month, which come with discussion guides for teachers and families.

Children's Book Council: CBC Diversity Resources for Teachers & Librarians

A list of resources compiled by the CBC for educators and librarians to enrich their students’ reading.

NCTE Book Lists' Diversity in Graphic Novels

National Council of Teachers of English resource noting comics and graphic works featuring diverse characters or created by diverse authors and illustrators.

Amelia Bloomer Project/RISE (Feminist)                                 American Indian Youth Literature Award

Arab American Book Award                                                      Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Coretta Scott King Book Award (African American)               International Children's Digital Library

Middle East Book Award                                                            Pura Belpre Award (Hispanic)

Rainbow Book List (LGBT)                                                        Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award

Schneider Family Book Award (Disability)                               Skipping Stones Honor Awards

Stonewall Book Awards                                                         Sydney Taylor Book Award

USBBY (International Understanding)                                      Carter G. Woodson Book Awards

 

Founders Library's Juvenile Collection contains materials in a number of languages, including Spanish, French, 

To find non-English language titles in HuskieSearch, do a Subject Heading search. Example, Spanish language books -- juvenile fiction.

Screen capture of HuskieSearch page with Spanish language -- juvenile fiction subject search terms.

Do make sure to use the filter on the left side of the screen to limit by Location (NIU--Juvenile Collection--4th FL--Founders Library).

Location filter Juvenile

 

You can also browse Juvenile titles in a number of languages by typing in the term "ForLang" and then searching by Holding Call Number:

Screen grab of HuskieSearch using ForLang and holding call number search

Then, if you wish, you can also narrow by specific Language using the filter on the left side of the screen. To see Juvenile Collection materials in Chinese, click on Chinese to see the filter results.

Filtering by language