Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Artibibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition, catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Covers artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century and covers the most recent word and trend in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention to the present. Particular emphasis on new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign language literature. Abstracts Only.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window Please see the entry under "Art Abstracts" for a fuller description. This database takes the index back in time and covers the years 1929-1984. Abstracts Only.
Artstor This link opens in a new window Artstor - NIU was generously granted free access to this unrivaled storehouse of 3 million images and artworks until the end of June 2021.
Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window Covers material published between 1975 and 2007. The database can be searched, in both basic and advanced search modules, by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, as well as other elements.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC is the largest database of educational resources and research in the world, containing over 1.8 million journal articles, conference papers, official reports, theses, etc. Coverage is 1996 to present. Full Text.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field.
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB Online) This link opens in a new window The International Medieval Bibliography was founded in 1967 with the support of the Medieval Academy of America, with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide. Its editorial staff is based at Institute for Medieval Studies at the University of Leeds, and the project is supported by over 50 teams of contributors in Europe, North America, Australia and Japan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy - furnishes more than 30,000 streaming video titles for a broad variety of academic disciplines. An annual subscription is available on request for $150 per title. Owing to expense only faculty requests for mandatory class assignments will be honored. Students who generate a Kanopy request will be directed to contact their instructor.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art Online - the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Database comprises a wide array of reference materials including dictionaries, thesauri, and encyclopedia.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Oxford Scholarship Online - this valuable online resource arrives courtesy of CARLI (Consortium of Academic Libraries of Illinois). The database comprehends thousands of current academic monographs and research materials. Not all titles are available full-text.
There are several means to assure full-text retrieval. First, input terms of interest in the single search bar. On the left side of the page of retrieved results there are a set of boxes indicating "Availability." To assure full-text retrieval check the box for "Unlocked." One will note a number of academic presses in addition to Oxford. Another means of retrieving full text with an especial focus on Oxford imprints is via selecting the "Advanced Search" mode from the main page. Set publication date limits from 2018 to 2020. One can easily survey the broad scope of the database by employing "Subject" from the pull-down menu. The latter operation allows one to browse content from various disciplines ranging from Anthropology to Mathematics to Sociology.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window This database provides full text, full image of nearly 100 scholarly journals from Johns Hopkins Press and other scholarly publishers. Provides searching of full text
across all journals in the database, selected journal titles, or in just a single title. Allows searching of table of contents of articles and book reviews by author and title
as well as by Library of Congress subject headings. Full Text.
Saskia Digital Image Archive This link opens in a new window The collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and
the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. The images are displayed in both high resolution and thumbnail format. Additionally, the descriptive data about the images includes
references to the occurrences of these images in 19 major art history texts.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Swank Digital Campus - the platform offers streaming video access to more than 25,000 titles. Swank partners with major Hollywood studios, independent filmmakers and international film companies to provide a diverse library of feature films, and documentaries. The wide range of titles ensures all academic departments can find the movies needed to promote active and engaged learning in their classrooms.
Faculty may request individual films for required classroom usage. Faculty requests are premised on creating a one-time faculty profile. To create a faculty profile, please go to the vendor's site and click on "Login":
On the next page, click on "Create Instructor Account" and submit the completed form:
Please allow a forty-eight hour window for approval and activation of individual requests.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
HuskieSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.
HuskieSearch also helps you manage your research. Sign-in to:
- Renew books and videos
- Create favorites lists
- Export citations to Endnote Web
- View full search results (Some databases, only show results when you're signed in.)
For more information about using HuskieSearch, check out the HuskieSearch User Guide.
NIU Libraries provides to more than 200 databases, both general and specialized. Explore them alphabetically or by subject below.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies. The books included have been recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. Offered by the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) in collaboration with ten learned societies and nearly 80 contributing publishers.
Ebook Central includes more than 70,000 individual texts covering a broad array of academic disciplines. The database boasts a distinguished set of publishers including such university presses as Oxford, Cambridge, Princeton, Harvard, etc. The content of the database is well paired with an advanced set of tools that allows for expansive searching capabilities, and manipulation and storage of text.
eBook Collection offers access to digitized books, including all of the titles produced by the Gutenberg Project. In addition, the University Libraries offers full-text access to some 1,500 titles in business, computer science, and general reference.