Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip navigation

Leadership, Educational Psychology and Foundations: Web Resources

This guide helps you get started with your research in the Leadeship, Educational Psychology and Foundations subject areas.

Links to Selected Subject Appropriate Web Resources

Web Resources

 

General

Organizations

  • Academy for Educational Development

  • American Association of People with Disabilities - AAPD is a nonprofit, cross-disability, advocacy-centered organization that focuses on issues of economic circumstances, productivity, independence, full citizenship, and total integration into all aspects of society.

  • American Association of School Administrators - Founded in 1865, the AASA is the professional forum for elementary and secondary educators interested in improving schools for the 21st century, expanding the school-community connection, and enhancing the effectiveness and quality of school leaders. "Front Burner Issues" provides a quick way to track important debates and controversies.

  • American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities - The oldest (since 1876) and largest worldwide interdisciplinary organization of professionals and laypersons concerned about mental retardation and related disabilities. Focus issues are policies promoting global research, and universal human rights for persons with disabilities. Tables of contents for all Association periodicals are included.

  • American Educational Research Association - Teachers and other education professionals will find the twelve subject divisions of this site most useful for linking to existing list servers in specialized areas. When used with "Internet Resources of AERA", the latter provides search engines covering both Association publications and all authors/titles of papers presented at annual meetings.

  • American Evaluation Association - An international professional association of evaluators devoted to the application and exploration of program evaluation, personnel evaluation, technology, and many other forms of evaluation. Evaluation involves assessing the strengths and weaknesses of programs, policies, personnel, products, and organizations to improve their effectiveness.

  • American Society for Training and Development - This site is built with an audience of training professionals in mind, with special attention to workplace learning and performance in government, academic and corporate settings. The Association was founded in 1944. Researchers will find the "Library" section useful for its links to topical bibliographies.

  • APA Division of Psychopharmacology and Substance Abuse

  • APA Division of School Psychology

  • Association for Experiential Education - Education Begun at a conference in Boone, North Carolina in the early 1970's, the Association's goal is "to support professional development, theoretical advancement, and evaluation in the field of experiential education worldwide." Users will find the lengthy list of web links to a wide variety of experiential education sites a good place to begin.

  • Attention Deficit Disorder Association

  • Autism Research Institute (ARI)

  • Autism Society of America

  • Autism Speaks

  • Buros Center for Testing

  • Disabled People's International - The purpose of Disabled People's International (DPI) is to promote the human rights of people with disabilities through full participation, equalization of opportunity, and development.

  • Education Alliance for Equity and Excellence in the Nation's Schools - Based at Brown University, this group believes "that language, culture, and diversity are fundamental to the success of educational reform," and promotes research, training, and curriculum design within an inclusionary framework. Most of the links are to organizations in New England.

  • Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection

  • Illinois Association of School Boards - Created in 1913, this non-profit organization has as members over 90 percent of the active school boards in Illinois. Features of the site include the 1998 Illinois School Code online and tracking of education-related bills pending before the Illinois General Assembly.

  • International Association for the Evaluation of Educational Achievement - Taking "the world as an educational laboratory" the IEA provides comparative educational research and has done so since the late 1950s. Topics of continuing interest are mathematics and science education, reading literacy, and computer applications.

  • International Dyslexia Association

  • International Society for Performance Improvement - This society was founded in 1962 with the goal of "improving productivity and performance in the workplace in systematic and reproducible ways."

  • LDA: Learning Disabilities Association of America - This organization is devoted to defining and finding solutions to the broad spectrum of learning problems and issues, such as attention deficit disorder, dyslexia, transitional concerns, and testing.

  • National Association of Elementary School Principals - A detailed site sponsored by the most powerful organization dedicated to the school principal, their career and information needs, and legislation which affects them. Elementary and middle school administrators will find the "Principal Online" feature useful as an idea forum.

  • National Association of School Psychologists

  • National Association of Secondary School Principals - The home page of the professional organization for secondary school administrators in parochial, private and public school. New features include links to SCRIBE (School and College Records on the Internet for Better Employment) and a common application form for colleges which can be downloaded.

  • National Association of State Boards of Education - Principal goals of this organization include strengthening state leadership in educational policy making and working to assure citizen support for public education. Features include profiles of all state boards, links to state agencies, a legislative update covering both federal and state activity, and a summary of ongoing projects.

  • National Board for Professional Teaching Standards - With the goal to "improve learning by strengthening teaching," this organization (run by a board, many of whose members are classroom teachers) aims to develop rigorous standards for what teachers should know and set up a national voluntary assessment system to certify professionals who meet these standards. The Board was formed out of a recommendation in the 1986 Carnegie Corporation report A Nation Prepared: Teachers for the 21st Century.

  • National Down Syndrome Society - Established in 1979 to promote scientific research, assist families and increase public knowledge of Down Syndrome. The "Information" section of this page divides the data into general material, clinical, and educational summaries.

  • National Education Association - Curriculum-related materials may be located at this organizations site in the "Resource Room for Creating Great Schools."

  • National Organization on Disability - This organization promotes the equal participation of America's 54 million men, women and children with disabilities in aspects of life.

  • National Rehabilitation Information Center - The Center collects and disseminates the results of federally funded research on disability and rehabilitation, offering 60,000 records in five databases covering current research, historical literature, and projects of the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research.

  • National School Boards Association

  • The National Autistic Society - This British organization, founded in 1962 to educate the public on autism and provide specialist services for this population, works with fifty affiliated local societies through its branches. The site offers updates on recent measures being considered by Parliament, a file of news releases, a review of autistic spectrum disorders, separate sections of information for families (parents, siblings, and caregivers) and professionals involved in direct care. None of the publications and resources listed by the Society are available in electronic form.

  • Tourette Syndrome Association, Inc. - The only national organization in the United States dedicated to providing current information on Tourette syndrome, based at Massachusetts General Hospital's Department of Neurology. Data appearing here is not intended as a substitute for professional consultation.

Associations and Societies

  • American Federation of Teachers - This professional union has, as members, teachers in public and private schools, paraprofessionals and school-related personnel, higher education faculty, nurses and health professionals, and government employees at the state and local levels. Notable features of this page are links to regular news and information for all its professional divisions, the weekly on-line newsletter, Inside AFT, and access to the research, information technology, educational issues and international affairs departments.

  • Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development - Based in Alexandria, Virginia, this international organization provides professional development in curriculum and instruction and supports and designs activities to promote educational equity. Links under "Publications" offer book reviews from Educational Leaderships beginning with March, 1997, a searchable file of the ASCD Education Bulletin for 1997/98. The "selected topic forums" and five subject-focused "network forums" listed under Communication and Forums" are helpful in tracking developing issues.

  • National Education Association - Curriculum-related materials may be located at this organizations site in the "Resource Room for Creating Great Schools."

Regional Associations

Government Agencies and Resources

Research Centers and Institutes

Curriculum Resources

Testing