Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Development and Family Sciences: Database Tutorials

Research in family studies

Overview

NOTE: EBSCOHost, ProQuest, and Ovid are all companies that develop databases. The library provides access to several databases from each of these different companies and more. While a specific databases may search different sources of content, EBSCOHost and ProQuest use a consistent interface for their databases. Therefore, included below are videos about searching using the companies interface. PsycInfo through Ovid is the exception, so it is important to view the guide for detailed instructions for searching PsycInfo.  

EBSCOHost Databases

EBSCOHost is a platform for multiple databases (for example, Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, Business Source Complete, and many more). While NIULibraries provides access to many other databases in addition to EBSCOhost, most database interfaces include similar functionality. 

Key Points:

  • Multiple search boxes allow you to search for articles using different terms in varying article citation fields, such as subject, author, and title. 
  • The Advanced Search screen offers additional search limiters for increased result refinement.
  • To further refine your results, use the options in the left-hand column of the results page.Print, email, save, and cite or export a single results or multiple results.

Additional Tip:

  • Although you can limit your search to only articles available in full text, we strongly discourage you from doing so. This will limit your search to only full text articles in the database you are searching. However, the FIND IT link available in most databases will check to see if the full text of the article is available in another electronic resource provided by NIU Libraries.
  • See the Accessing Full Text Articles Using FIND IT tutorial for more information.

PsycInfo through OVID

ProQuest Databases