Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews is the most comprehensive life science database in terms of its subject coverage and source material. It contains millions of records from thousands of life science literature sources across the globe. 1969 to current.
Chicago Manual of Style Online, 15th - 17th edition This link opens in a new window
This new edition of the venerable guide to the preparation of manuscripts, articles, and papers has been thoroughly overhauled and updated to reflect the new realities of digital texts and electronic publishing.
Compendex and EI Village This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature covering 5000 engineering journals and professional conferences in applied science. Coverage begins in 1970 and is updated weekly. Subject areas treated include chemical and process engineering, applied physics, computers, data processing, electronics and communication.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century this electronic work is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. In addition, the online format places physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms within easy reach.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Inspec is the world's leading bibliographic database providing comprehensive global coverage of scientific and technical literature in the fields of physics, electrical engineering, electronics and computer science. Inspec contains over 8 million records dating from 1969 and draws upon 3,000 scientific and technical journals and 2,000 conference proceedings for coverage.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text archive of complete backfiles of scholarly periodical literature since 1872. Journals are intended to be archival, not current; most are 2-5 years behind the current issues, depending on the journal. Full Text.
PLOS: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
PLOS: Public Library of Science--is a nonprofit open access scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of open access journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present), MEDLINE (1958 to present), and Methods Now. Tools available include PatentPak, Predictive Retrosynthesis, and BLAST for protein and nucleotide searching. Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFindern requires registration
. Two important points to keep in mind concerning registration:
- The proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain.
- Any other type of email address will be rejected.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 (with) American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
The database--comprehending more than twelve million pages of text--offers an unparalleled view of the activities of the United States federal government from the founding of the Republic through most of the twentieth century. The Serial Set is invaluable for research in political history, social history, cultural history, military history, ethnic history, international relations, explorations, commerce, industrial development and much more. Formerly, much of the material embodied in the Serial Set was difficult to locate, and the majority was available only on microform. The Serial Set includes scores of publications along with thousands of maps, illustrations and statistical tables. Materials prior to the 1838 are included in the American State Papers, 1789-1838.