Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biosis Previews (Institute for Scientific Information)
Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive life science database in terms of its subject coverage and source material. It contains millions of records from thousands of life science literature sources across the globe. 1969 to current. This title has been incorporated into Web of Science.
bioRxiv--is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
Current Contents (Institute for Scientific Information)
Furnishes access to the bibliographic information on articles in journals and magazines and the table of contents of journals in the following fields: Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Geology and Physics. Coverage is 1998 to the present. This title has been incorporated into Web of Science.
Descriptions of Plant Viruses
This site provides a central source of information about viruses, viroids and satellites of plants, fungi and protozoa, with some additional data on related animal viruses. The site is under active development: the information is being updated frequently and additional features are also being planned.
The database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 295,000 records.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports: Science and Social Sciences Editions--the former edition contains data from over 5,900 journals in science and technology. The latter includes data from over 1,700 journals in the social sciences. The database can be searched at the individual title level or by subject category, publisher and country/territory.
PLOS: Public Library of Science
PLOS: Public Library of Science--is a nonprofit open access scientific publishing project aimed at creating a library of open access journals and other scientific literature under an open content license.
An immense database produced by the National Library of Medicine. International coverage of more than 3,500 journals covering all areas of biomedical research. Coverage is 1965 to the present.
Review of Plant Pathology
Review of Plant Pathology (RoPP) is a fully searchable abstracts database of internationally published research. RoPP provides the latest information on plant pathogenic fungi, viruses, bacteria, phytoplasmas and spiroplasmas, including pathogen biology from genetics to geographical distributions. The production, control and toxigenic effects of mycotoxins are also covered. Coverage is 1990 to present.
Science - published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science the magazine modestly claims that it represents "the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary."
Note: If you are off campus, browse to navigate the database. Searching is not supported.
Note: "Backfire" extends to 1997.
Science of Synthesis
Is a balanced and critical reference work, produced by the collaborative efforts of chemists, from both industry and academia, selected by the editorial board. All published results from journals, books, and patent literature from the early 1800's until the year of publication are considered by the authors, who are among the leading experts in their field, to provide chemists with the most reliable methods to solve their synthesis problems. Science of Synthesis will be updated periodically and will become a prime source of information for chemists in the 21st century.
Scientific Electronic Library Online
SciELO is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific literature, contributing to overcome the phenomena known as "lost science". In addition, the SciELO model comprises integrated procedures for the measurement of usage and impact of scientific journals.
A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present) and MEDLINE (1958 to present). Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFinder requires registration
. A couple of things to keep in mind concerning registration is that the proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain. Any other type of email address will be rejected. The conditions for setting a password are also quite stringent. The password must be between 7 and 15 characters. Moreover, the password must have both upper and lower case letters, must contain a numeral, and also must contain an non-alphanumeric character such as *, %, &, etc.
Web of Knowledge
Combines the acclaimed Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes (1987 to the present) with additional databases including BIOSIS Previews (1969 to the present), Current Contents (1998 to the present), and Medline (1950 to the present). The database offers a powerful and versatile research platform as well as search and analysis tools that enhance its scholarly value.
Web of Science
The database allows access to both the Science and Social Sciences Citation Indexes. One can locate not only specific articles, but more important explore how specific articles have been treated by the literature in their respective fields. The backfile extends to 1965.