A definition
"A standard is a document that provides requirements, specifications, guidelines or characteristics that can be used consistently to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose." - ISO
Most likely you find a standard mentioned when searching in a database like Compendex or in a Reference List of an article. This page provides several ways to find information about standards.
There are thousands of Industry Standards developed in the U.S. and by international organizations. Many industry sector standards are included in the standards search engines provided by NSSN, IHS, TechStreet, and SAI Global.
For questions about finding a standard, contact Nestor Osorio at nosorio@niu.edu
ANSI - American National Standards Institute
ANSI Webstore - ANSI Standards
ANSI Webstore - ASTM Standards
The ANSI Webstore will let you search for standards from many standards publishers by keyword or document number. Keyword searches may give results from multiple sources including standards that are freely available on the Web. The left side of the page provides the ability to browse by publisher or view all standards developing organizations in the database.
IHS is one of several companies that sells copies of industry standards. The site provides an excellent search engine to standards of all kinds and will often mention whether a particular standard has been superseded or revised more recently. Searching by title keywords will help locate information on whether a standard has also been issued by another standards agency.
Compendex also includes records from AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, IEEE, SAE, and SMPTE, plus a few scattered standards from other organizations. It is another source for locating standards of interest. Choose "Standard" as the Document Type when performing a search to find standards by a particular organization or on a given topic.
OSHA standards
Osha standards are rules that describe the methods that employers must use to protect their employees from hazards. There are OSHA standards for Construction work, Maritime operations, and General Industry, which is the set that applies to most worksites. OSHA.
OSHA Guidelines and Standards - OSAP
https://www.osha.gov/laws-regs
ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
ANSI is the primary organization for fostering the development of technology standards in the United States. ANSI works with industry groups and is the U.S. member of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). ANSI.
ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is an international standard-setting body composed of representatives from various national standards organizations. Founded on 23 February 1947, the organization promotes worldwide proprietary, industrial and commercial standards. ISO
Standards - ISO
https://www.iso.org/standards.html
National Institute of Standards and Technology
NIST was formerly known as the National Bureau of Standards (NBS). These standards can be found on the NIST Standards page. The NIST Standards Coordination Office advances the development, adoption, and use of technical standards, conformity assessment, laboratory accreditation, and quality management systems to promote U.S. innovation and international trade through cross-laboratory, interagency, private sector, and international partnerships.
Military standards
A good source for Military standards is the Index of Specifications and Standards--Department of Defense, or DODISS, is an index to all specifications and standards adopted by the Department of Defense. Part I is a numerical Listing; Part II is an alphabetical listing; Part III consists of the Federal Supply Classification Listing, and Part IV consists of a listing of canceled standards.
Federal government standards
The General Services Administration is charged with the responsibility for preparing standards, often called government specifications, government specs, or government standards, for common items used by U. S. Government agencies. Some of these standards can also be located online through the DoD web page or the Index of Federal Specifications and Standards.
Federal regulations
Many standards are incorporated into the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).
The Code of Federal Regulations is indexed by the CFR Index and Finding Aids; and the Index to the Code of Federal Regulations. These two publications must be used together to ascertain the latest date of any given regulation.
Other LibGuides
Standards & Specifications: A How-To Guide, Iowa State University
Standards, Codes, & Specifications - University of Texas
A partial list
AASHTO American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials
ACI American Concrete Institute
API American Petroleum Institute
ASCE American Society of Civil Engineers
ASHRAE American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers
ASHRAE Handbooks
In Reference Collection TH7201.A8 + others
ASME American Society of Mechanical Engineers
ASME BPVC Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
In Reference Collection TJ290.A754 2011
ASTM American Society for Testing and Materials
In Reference Collection TA401.A564
AWS American Welding Society
ICC International Code Council
IEEE Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
IES Illuminating Engineering Society of North America
NESC National Electrical Safety Code and Handbook
National electrical safety code: American national standard. TK152.A44 1980
NESC handbook a discussion of the National Electrical Safety Code. Clapp, Allen L. 2011. Available online
NFPA National Fire Protection Association
