Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.
American Institute of Physics: AIP Journal Center
The thirteen journals issued by the American Institute of Physics may be searched by individual title or as a group through its clearly organized site. Coverage begins in 1975 for abstracts and 1995 for full-text, and includes two virtual journals having
Created and maintained by the American Physical Society, this listing is only one feature on the larger Society homepage- titles offered are Physical Review (sections A through E), Reviews of Modern Physics, Physical Review Letters, and Physical Review Special Topics. Full Text.
A broadly scoped site from London's Institute of Physics offering a variety of online services. Researchers will find a selection of full-text electronic journals in eleven component fields of pure and applied physics and access to professional conferences most useful starting points for study. Full Text.
A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature covering 5000 engineering journals and professional conferences in applied science. Coverage begins in 1970 and is updated weekly. Subject areas treated include chemical and process engineering, applied physics, computers, data processing, electronics and communication.
The database features full text access from 1998 on to a substantial portion of the society journals published in conjunction with IEEE and IEE. It also offers indexing and abstracting access to a variety of other publication including journals, proceedings, standards and books. A recent addition to NIU offerings is the IEEE - Wiley eBooks Library which includes a slate of more than 400 titles and extends up to 2010 publication date.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Journals
Founded in 1880 as the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME is the premier professional membership organization for more than 127,000 mechanical engineers and associated members worldwide. ASME also conducts one of the world's largest technical
Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
ADS includes four databases with abstracts in Astronomy, Instrumentation, Physics/Geophysics, and the LANL Preprints with a total of over 3.3 million references. The ADS Article Service contains the full text articles for major astronomical journals: Astrophysical Journal, Astronomical Journal, Astronomy & Astrophysics, Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, and Solar Physics, as well as some other publications.
Science Direct provides access to the full text of more than 320 journals published by Elsevier Science. Articles are generally available from 1995 forward. Please note that Northern does not subscribe to all of the journals within Science Direct.
A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present) and MEDLINE (1958 to present). Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFinder requires registration at a separate web site. The registration site is located at: https://origin-scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html . A couple of things to keep in mind concerning registration is that the proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain. Any other type of email address will be rejected. The conditions for setting a password are also quite stringent. The password must be between 7 and 15 characters. Moreover, the password must have both upper and lower case letters, must contain a numeral, and also must contain an non-alphanumeric character such as *, %, &, etc.
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Springer journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and a column on the right side of the homepage offers a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,946 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
NIU enjoys access to the vast majority of Wiley journal titles. Article titles and abstracts are fully searchable, and the top of the homepage features a rough guide to subject collections. The database currently comprises 1,785 journal titles most of which extend access to 1997.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online (96th edition)
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century this electronic work is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. In addition, the online format places physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms within easy reach.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify relevant material across the world of scholarly research.
An extremely diverse collection of more than 27,000 journal titles. The database contains both full-text and abstracts.
The major indexing and abstracting service for mathematical sciences and its applications. It covers the literature of mathematics since 1940. Abstracts Only.
Current Contents (Institute for Scientific Information)
Furnishes access to the bibliographic information on articles in journals and magazines and the table of contents of journals in the following fields: Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Geology and Physics. Coverage is 1998 to the present.
Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL)
Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library (ACM DL). The database comprehends the publications (except books) of the ACM. The latter touts itself as the worlds leading educational and scientific computing society.
