Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to all of the American Chemical Society publications owned by libraries in the state of Illinois. Full Text/Full Image.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
Is a free online service providing a structure centric community for chemists. Providing access to almost 21.5 million unique chemical entities derived from over 200 different data sources and integration to a multitude of other online services, ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information. The database is financed and supported by the Royal Chemical Society.
Current Contents (Institute for Scientific Information) This link opens in a new window
Furnishes access to the bibliographic information on articles in journals and magazines and the table of contents of journals in the following fields: Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Geology and Physics. Coverage is 1998 to the present. This title has been incorporated into Web of Science.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Proudly serving the scientific community for over a century this electronic work is an update of a classic reference, mirroring the growth and direction of science. This venerable work continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world. An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science. In addition, the online format places physical property data and mathematical formulas used in labs and classrooms within easy reach.
Science This link opens in a new window
Science - published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science the magazine modestly claims that it represents "the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary."
Note: "Backfire" extends to 1997.
Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Is a balanced and critical reference work, produced by the collaborative efforts of chemists, from both industry and academia, selected by the editorial board. All published results from journals, books, and patent literature from the early 1800's until the year of publication are considered by the authors, who are among the leading experts in their field, to provide chemists with the most reliable methods to solve their synthesis problems. Science of Synthesis will be updated periodically and will become a prime source of information for chemists in the 21st century.
Scientific Electronic Library Online This link opens in a new window
SciELO is a model for cooperative electronic publishing of scientific journals on the Internet. Especially conceived to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean countries, it provides an efficient way to assure universal visibility and accessibility to their scientific literature, contributing to overcome the phenomena known as "lost science". In addition, the SciELO model comprises integrated procedures for the measurement of usage and impact of scientific journals.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database containing citations from Chemical Abstracts (1907 to present), MEDLINE (1958 to present), and Methods Now. Tools available include PatentPak, Predictive Retrosynthesis, and BLAST for protein and nucleotide searching. Journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, and technical reports are among the types of records provided. The Registry database (1947 to present) provides access to descriptions of specific chemical substances, structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, and more. The new web based version of SciFindern requires registration
. Two important points to keep in mind concerning registration:
- The proprietors of the database require an email address that contains the "niu.edu" domain.
- Any other type of email address will be rejected.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. Scopus quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts and provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools. Be confident in progressing research, teaching or research direction and priorities — all from one database and with one subscription.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista — a leading provider of market and consumer data which consolidates statistics and narrative reports on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.